a balanced life


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Manitou Springs
October 20th 2011
Published: October 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Oct 20 The Springs Thursday
My “good” computer started crash dumping again so I’m back to using my little 14 inch backup Acer. It will have to do me as I have a 17 inch HP in the drawer in the front room at home so I am not going to buy another. I’m paid up here through next Monday so will enjoy it here till then and maybe stay another week after that. Unless I decide to make another stab at going to the Black Hills in South Dakota. Guess I will wait and see how I feel about it Monday. My truck is fixed and so that’s a good deal. I noticed there is a bus stop for the #16 bus next to the motel on 26th street. I will file that info away in case I decide to fly back here sometime. Actually though the walk up 26th street to Colorado Ave. isn’t that far and I could probably walk it in less time than I would spend waiting on the #16 bus, and there is a #3 bus that runs the length of Colorado Avenue from Downtown to Manitou Ave.. The basic fare is $1.75 but
seniors (60 and over) can ride for 85 cents. Well guess I need to get dressed and go exploring a bit so the maid can come in and do her bit.
Thursday Evening – I went up 26th street to Colorado Avenue and noted that If I took Colorado Avenue West it would become Manitou Ave in Manitou Springs. So if I had a motel on Colorado Avenue I could use the #3 bus to go to either Manitou Springs or downtown Colorado Springs. I will keep this info in my pocket in case I fly here next time.
I went to Manitou Springs today and parked on the East end of it and walked uphill all through the town to the West end checking out things and sampling the different spring waters with a sample cup one of the stores gave me. The spring waters pretty much tasted like club soda. I went up one side of the street going up the hill, then rested at Soda Springs Park a bit , and then came back down the hill on the other side of the street. It was an exhausting but interesting day. After touring Manitou Springs I went back to the Garden of the Gods and drove through it to the visitor center then back through it again. It was really not something you get tired of looking at over and over. I had a woman take a picture of me driving my truck by balanced rock. All and all a very good but tiring day.




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.554s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 78; dbt: 0.2286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb