Driving in Colorado Part 2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Loveland
December 10th 2009
Published: December 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Loveland Pass

After a brief stop at Georgetown, we headed west on I-70. My longing for exhilarating driving was answered by the Loveland Pass highway sign. Anything with the word “Pass” in this mountain region means driving ecstasy. Without a GPS, I took the exit ramp. I didn’t care where this US-6 West would lead me. All I knew, I was about to experience the mountain road that would wake up all my senses.

Route US-6 is a wide nicely paved ascending two-lane undivided highway with ample emergency lanes on both sides. The highest point at the pass is 11990 ft. I mesmerized the picturesque view of the mountains and valleys before me.

The vista point at the Loveland pass offers the breathtaking grandiose view. No matter which direction I looked, I saw hundreds of mountains and they are weaving at each other. I saw roads in the distance zigzagging downward on the ridges, brows, and valleys of these never-ending-weaving mountains. The mountains are bigger than huge. They have different climates and different vegetations grow at different level. Near the top, the mountains are relatively barren; no big trees grow at that high elevation...@driving-vacation


More pictures...









Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.311s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb