The Begining...!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Louisville
August 11th 2008
Published: August 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello Family and Friends!


Welcome to my blog site! I hope to keep this up to date as I travel Europe with Holiday on Ice. I can't believe I already leave in less than two weeks!! Of coarse I'm excited but I'm also freaking out! 😱 Oh well, its the good kind of freaking out, just that unease of walking blind and hoping not to run into any walls ha. For those who don't really know the details let me lay it out for you..
It all started this spring as I was trying to figure out what to do this year. I had aplied and been accepted to Parsons Fashion Design School in Manhattan, New York and was most likely going to attend...even though I had absollutely nooo money to go to this incredibly expensive school. Of coarse those of you that know my father can picture him pulling his hair out and saying over and over "there is noo way we can afford this!Good luck finding a job to pay for it." So Parsons became a little iffy.. Then a choreographer I have known for a long time was offered to choreograph a brand new show

for Holiday on Ice in Europe. She knew that I was very interested in joining a show, especially Holiday and came to talk to me about it. Aparently the director asked her if she knew anyone that would be good to bring over and she thought of me! So, I created an audition dvd of a couple of my programs with the help of Christopher 😊 and sent it to the director over in Europe. After a month or so I heard back and they were asking me if I would like to be a semi principle in their brand new show Energia. (A principle is like a prima ballarina, the main skater of a show, the soloist. A semi principle which is the position I have taken, is a skater who is still part of the chorus for some of the time and also steps out for solos.) While my dream has always been to be a principle skater for a show like Holiday, a semi principle is a perfectly respectible start. I also may be an understudy for the principles so I'll definitely be keeping busy.
Rehersals start in Amsterdam, well Utretch a city just a little south, and I will be there for two months. Now I know you're all thinking, "Whoa Amsterdam?? Caroline behave!" While Amsterdam is known for legal marajuana and prostitution I can promise you all niether has ever interested me. 😊 I have also heard that it is absolutely beautiful there and there are so many things to see so I am really looking forward to being there. I must say though as I have been searching at sites and maps of the Netherlands that I'm a little aprehensive when it comes to the Dutch language. I'm probably going to sound rediculous trying to find my way around but honestly how is anyone able to say street names like "van sijpesteijntnl" or "oudegachtaande tolsteegzijde" ??? oh well that's why I'm proud to be a stupid American, hopefully the people of the Netherlands will forgive me for it. 😊
The show Energia officially begins in Hamburg, Germany November 5, 08. From there it travels all over Germany until the begining of February. February 11, 2009 it starts in Paris, France and travels all over France until May 17th where it finishes in Dijon, France. So a pretty long tour and a ton of work. Aparently we are going to be doing on average 10 shows a week and some weeks we might even get up to 14 shows. So I definitely won't have much free time but I invite anyone to come visit me!!

So yes I'm very excited and looking forward to this wonderful experience. After competing for 12 years I'm still having trouble letting go but I consider this a step in the right direction. I get to perform so what more could I ask for? I thought I'd add some random pictures of the past





Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb