Journey Preface


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Fort Collins
April 30th 2010
Published: April 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Tomorrow I start a journey that I logistically planned for over a year but which I have been planning for in my heart much longer. In 2001, I went on a pilgrimage to Spain to walk the Camino de Santiago and ever since I have been yearning to return. That day is finally here and I am filled with excitement.

No one can truly understand what the Camino is about until they have walked it for themself. It is more than just a backpacking trip, more than just a hike and more than just cheap tourism. It is a sacred journey that symbolizes life itself - birth, death and rebirth. Many pilgrims are called to walk the Camino when they experience a major event in their life - the death of a loved one, the loss of a job, or a divorce. They walk with introspection - examining their life - drawing closer to whatever spiritual path defines who they are. The simplicity of walking with just what you can carry on your back and the feeling of freedom this brings, frees your mind of life's complications and allows you to focus on what truly matters in life.

I bring on this journey many regrets and much pain, and it is on the Camino that I want to leave them, for they no longer serve me in life. Like the mythological Phoenix that is consumed by the flames only to be reborn from the ashes, my spiritual journey is about transformation and rebirth. It is about centering myself and bringing balance back into my life; about focusing on what life is truly about - loving and making this world a better place. It is about supporting and being supported by friends and family and living with authenticity and integrity.

As I embark on this journey, I am grateful for the many people whose paths have intersected with mine. They have taught me many lessons that have made be a better person. I wish all of you many blessings, good health and happiness and I will say a prayer for you when I reach Santiago.


Advertisement



30th April 2010

bom Caminho
Sucesso no seu caminho, tudo de bom Utreia
1st May 2010

Buen Camino!
James, I frequent this blog site and am happy to read your blog. I look forward to walking your Camino with you as you post along the way. I am planning to walk my Camino next August after I am done serving in the US Peace Corps. I look forward to walking my Camino and I don't look forward to walking my Camino. Even now, as I read your post I have tears, and I will have a lot more before I walk my Camino, during my Camino and hopefully, a lot less after I have completed my walk. I wish you Buen Camino and may you be blessed to find that next path in life that will be fruitful and filled with many blessings. Suzette
2nd May 2010

Thank You
Thank you Suzette for your well wishes. I hope your Camino is everything you want it to be! Ultreia!
7th May 2010

Good Luck James!
I just got this link last night, I will be following your progress with interest. -Joel

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1174s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb