Stub Creek Day 4


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Fort Collins
August 12th 2019
Published: August 13th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Today was our last day at Stub Creek and it is going to be sad leaving. When I first arrived here at 18 it was the beginning of my life the whole world was in front of me. Now at 71 I have finally returned and most of my life is now behind me. Not that it is over, there is still a lot ahead for me. I just never realized that Stub Creek was such a milestone for me in my life. It marked the point in my life were I was really making my own way with no turning back. From that point on I was ready to carve my own way. Returning here and remembering those first days was an awakening for me and best of all I was able to share it with Joanne. Anyway it will be sad leaving tomorrow morning.

Well today was a great day for us. We went in search of the illusive moose. We drove about 35 miles south of here to Long Draw Road, which actually enters the Northern point of Rocky Mountain National Park and is on the continental divide at a place called La Poudre Pass. While driving in we only saw deer and elk, but not a single moose. We finally reached the end of the road and had lunch at a meadow at 10,000 feet surrounded by peaks reaching over 12,000 feet. Beautiful lunch spot with only the two of us there. We finally decided our quest to photograph a moose was a failure. We drove back slowly just admiring the beauty of our surroundings and Long Draw Reservoir we notice a large animal just off the road ahead. As we approached closer it was a full size bull moose munching grass. We stopped about 50 feet away not wanting to either scare or aggravate him. I got out of the truck and started clicking pictures while he just posed and ate. The pictures were great and he finally tired of us and just wandered back into the woods. PERFECT. To make things even better we came up on a female moose that decided to pose too. So that was the perfect finish to our wonderful visit to Stub Creek. Tomorrow we will drive to Estes Park and join up with Chris and Bill Walker for 5 days of exploring Rocky Mountain National Park. The hard part is that we will have to be reintroduced to TV and the internet. We may have to learn how to send email and test again. See you tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb