Short day to Florence 42 miles, 2200feet


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Florence
July 5th 2018
Published: July 6th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


It was hard to leave my wonderful room at the Marriott Suites this morning, but I jumped on the bike about 6:30 and headed out.

Once I started pedaling, I got into the groove and had a very pleasant ride to Florence.

The weather cooperated pretty well and it was a pleasant ride all the way.

It was a gradual climb for the first 30 miles and then partially downhill to Florence.

It was so great to see the Rockies getting closer and closer and my legs were happy to get some climbing in.

It has been a few weeks since I have seen anything but flat.

I passed the Florence Federal Prison on the way and found out when arriving in Florence that the economy here relies on the Federal Prison and a State Prison for their livelihood.

As I was riding through Florence, a fellow traveler from San Diego, Pat Scanlon,( a retired Navy Submariner ), waved me over and I had a great lunch with Pat and his wife Jane.

She is on her own trip with a travel trailer and they meet up often along the way.

Florence is a nice little town and there are many Antique Shops and several restaurants on Main Street.

I am staying as a Warm Showers guest here hosted by Michele and Dale Gatton.

I haven’t had a chance to meet Dale, but Michele is very warm and we have been talking ever since I arrived.

It turns out she is an E-Bay power seller and earns a great income because of it. She has well over 1000 items for sale at any one time. Almost all of her items are from garage and Estate Sales in the local area.

After she told me about the $250 T-shirts, “well worn” ball caps, and coiled but worn ropes she sells for lots of money I am astonished at what people will pay for things. Many are from Japan and other overseas destinations.

Tomorrow I will pass the Royal Gorge Bridge turnoff on my way to Guffey. It is a 5 mile climb uphill climb to the Bridge, so I will see how my legs feel as I arrive at that point.

It will be great to be in the Rockies!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



6th July 2018

Here come the mountains
NOW it gets exciting! My husband has a cousin in Montrose, CO. Is that on your route?
9th July 2018

No
I am staying to the East over toward Grandby.

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0708s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb