Colorado Craziness


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Estes Park
August 9th 2009
Published: August 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

BackyardBackyardBackyard

My grandparent's backyard. I climbed to the top many many times.
My trip to the Colorado Rockies began on Thursday, August 6th. We got into Denver about 11:30 pm. It was rediculous. My mom picked the rental car. A Kia Spectra. Now she wants to buy the car. :S

The first day (Friday) I got up "early". My spirit was quickly dampened because I realized that Mountain Time is one hour behind what I have been living in. So, Central Time, I woke up about 8:00. On Friday, we took a tram up to the top of one of the mountains. We being my mother and I. We stayed with my grandparents at their time share house. It was amazingly awesome. Mom bought lunch. Grandpa bought dinner. Amy climbed the mountain in the back yard.

My mother and I went shopping for most of the day on Friday. We bought lots and lots of gifts for my host family. At this moment, I am still confused on something to get my host dad. I got a new sweatshirt. My mom thought it was strange that I wanted a guys shirt, but its cute. When we got home after dinner, I was so tired I fell right asleep. My mom and
Mount OlympusMount OlympusMount Olympus

This mountain is called Mount Olympus. I still dont know why...
grandparents watched Mama Mia whilst I slept.

Saturday, my mother and I got up early (around 6) and went straight to RMNP. I found out real quick that that's what everyone in the area calls Rocky Mountain National Park. We drove all over the mountains and the highest we hiked was 2.3 miles above sea level. I dont think my mother's constitution could handle any more than that! :D She finally hiked to the peak that she had always been too tired to hike before. Im glad it was with me 😊

After that, we ate lunch at McDonalds and went to the visitor's center to see if there were any more gifts I could possibly buy for my host family. There was pretty much nothing in there. It was quite disappointing. Later, around four, we all went to church at this little place on the top of a hill. The pastor was new, and the mass ended up lasting for two hours. The long service over, grandpa bought dinner at a mexican place called "The Grumpy Gringo". It was suitable, because grandma was grouchy that the service lasted so long. 😊 I remember eating an enchilada and
ShoppingShoppingShopping

We spent much of the day on Friday shopping. We went to a lot of places!
burrito, but I dont think I finished the taco.

Then, the long flight home. We returned the car, and we hope they wont notice the dent in the front. Its kind of a big dent, but we're hoping it will go unnoticed. The flight was okay, but I didnt get my window seat 😞. I feel awesome now, except for the whole sunburned thing. Hopefully I have a nice tan before I leave!



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

For IanFor Ian
For Ian

This is for you, man. It's a hat in the shape of a teapot that says "TEA" on it. Frickin' sweet :D
Info?Info?
Info?

At an information center (a very good place to look for gifts) had this bear statue. It was very very hot. I dont recommend touching it.
Tram!Tram!
Tram!

The tram ride to the top of one of the mountains.
RockiesRockies
Rockies

They are soooo beautiful. Even from the top of another mountain!
Black RaspberryBlack Raspberry
Black Raspberry

Eatin' homemade ice cream in downtown Estes.
New Shirt :DNew Shirt :D
New Shirt :D

I got a new sweatshirt! It's really comfy. Oh yeah, and I'm in RMNP. Rocky Mountain National Park.
RMNPRMNP
RMNP

Inside Rocky Mountain National Park!
You're the top!You're the top!
You're the top!

It was a long hike, but we made it!!
Which way?Which way?
Which way?

We passed it the first time, because it's not much more than a sign. It was a pretty view, though.
Quite QuaintQuite Quaint
Quite Quaint

Pope John Paul visited this church. It was beautiful, but the service was really long.
The Twin OwlsThe Twin Owls
The Twin Owls

Can you see them? The rock formation known as The Twin Owls is one of the best known in Estes.


12th August 2009

keeping up
Hi Amee, I am glad you had a nice trip. It was very fun being with you. :) Luvya, Mom
26th August 2009

fun trip
CO sounds fun. Hope your trip to France went well too. Luv Mom

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.091s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb