Denver First Impressions


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
October 11th 2013
Published: October 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I'm in Denver. I haven't really had any time yet to sit back and reflect upon my journey here or what I've experienced and felt about this place so far, so for those of you who are really interested in the deeper meaning of this trip, I'm sorry but you'll have to wrestle that out of my personal journal (which I honestly cannot find right now) which can be found in the tight grip of my dead, cold hands. But for those of you who just want to live vicariously through me, and let's be honest, who doesn't, then here's a brief recap of what I've done so far.

Day 1: Drive to Dayton, Ohio.

Day 2: Drive to Junction City, Kansas with a brief stop at the Gateway Arch in St. Louis and some great BBQ in Kansas City. I may or may not have camped illegally on federal property in KS, but it's their fault for closing the government.

Day 3: Arrive in Denver! There was a massive sense of disappointment that I could not see the mountains driving into Denver because of how overcast it was, but between Thursday evening and today I've been able
to see at least some of their beauty and it is stunning. I spent some time walking around downtown Thursday afternoon and got a feel for the vibe of the city. My impression so far is that compared to "my city" of New York, it's extremely relaxed, calm, and very open. Thursday evening I went up to Red Rocks Amphitheater and got some nice photos despite the rain.

Day 4: Drove up to Evans Lake and did a short hike in the mountains. Perfect weather, some snow already on the ground, but most of the Aspen leaves have been blown off from the high winds they've been having here. Regardless, it was a nice introduction to the mountains and I'm excited to do more hiking this weekend, especially now that Rocky Mountain National Park will be reopening tomorrow. I've got some more friends I'm meeting up with throughout the weekend and am excited to explore more and see how Denver could potentially fit into my life.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb