Mountains


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
April 27th 2011
Published: April 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well...

We got back from the mountains last night after an overnight stay in a lovely apartment in the ski resort of Keystone.
We spent two days on the slopes at a resort just down the road called Arapahoe Basin.

I picked it up the technique quickly but after getting cocky and trying a larger slope a couple of times, I felt really out of control, fell and hit my head, which then bounced on the ground 3 times, so I got scared and just kept to the almost flat snow!

After the days skiing, we spent an hour in the hot tub at the apartment, which was surrounded by snow. The snow started falling as we tried to wash away our aches and pains...as we were there off season, we had the entire complex to ourselves which was nice. We headed to a local town called Frisco for dinner, but it was deserted. It seems that once the ski season is over, everyone flees the ski resorts completely!

We found an open place in Dillon - 10 miles away, where we had another American sized dinner. I have noticed that every restaurant seems to have an option of 'chicken fried chicken', which made me giggle. So American! Of course, Jon and Anders wanted it.

I then whipped Jon's ass at pool. End of.

The second day at the mountains was less exciting for me. My neck (!?) and thighs were in so much pain, I couldn't face skiing again, so I watched and got chatting to a few other people who had excuses not to be on the slopes.

In the evening, we packed up our stuff and headed back to Greenwood. I cant describe how mental the weather is here. On the 2 hour drive back to Greenwood Village, we drove through a snowstorm, rain storm, brilliant sunshine and then back to rain as we got back to Greenwood. It was so dramatic but beautiful. The scenery is incredible every way you look.

We got a takeaway from an amazing Indian place (Little India) and stuffed ourselves back to Jons flat, and then beddy!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb