Denver's airport shut down?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
January 7th 2007
Published: January 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

White ChristmasWhite ChristmasWhite Christmas

View from my parents' house looking towards the Rocky Mountains.
Not for me...

the story:

Christmas is spent with family. Always. In all my (umm, few) years, I've always been with family on Christmas Day.

Well, this year, Denver got hit with a huge snow storm on the 20th of December. Where does my family live? Denver. Where was I going? Denver. When was my flight to Denver?

My flight was on the morning of the 22nd. I should be fine, right? Well, DIA (Denver's airport) shut down, and the flight cancelations just kept piling up...

They actually closed the airport for almost 48 hours. Are you kidding me? A closure of a major airport hub for 2 days?

So when was my flight from Los Angeles (LAX) to Denver? 11:30 a.m. on the 22nd. Whose flight was the first United flight to leave LAX for Denver since the closure of Denver's airport? Mine.

If I had been on a flight just an hour earlier, my flight would have been canceled, and I wasn't going to Denver. At least, not by conventional means. With all the canceled flights, all remaining seats into Denver were pretty much gone through Christmas.

But I made it...
Grandma & meGrandma & meGrandma & me

at the Christmas Eve service at Cherry Hills Community Church


to a White Christmas.

A white Christmas just fits, doesn't it? Now granted, it wasn't snowing where Jesus was born. But I like the whole white Christmas thing.

My trip to Colorado was fairly quick. Thus, I wasn't able to see any friends this time (sorry Chad, Koops, and Roman). Next time? Actually, next time is going to be even shorter. I'm going to Denver for my parents' 40th wedding anniversary in early March for just the weekend. The next next time?

Ok, back to Christmas. As is common now, we celebrated Christmas Eve at my parents' house, and Christmas morning at my sister's house. It was good to be with the family. It was especially good to see my grandma who is getting up there in years (93!). She had a little injury on Christmas Eve so wasn't able to enjoy all the festivities on Christmas Day, but it was good to spend at least a little time with her.

I returned to Los Angeles (Thousand Oaks specifically) on December 26 before the next snow storm hit Denver (this isn't normal - Denver doesn't usually get major snow storms).

What else is up
Christmas DayChristmas DayChristmas Day

Me with my nieces & nephew (left to right: Julia, Tyler, me and Kristen)
with me? Well, I'm working a ton. 50 hour work weeks are standard. We're meeting again for ISI (High School discipleship/accountability group) this Thursday after 2 weeks off. It will be good to see the guys again.

The big news though is that I'm returning to Thailand later this month to visit my girlfriend. Saai is finishing up her senior year at her university in Bangkok. She's student teaching this semester at a middle school on her university campus. What's she teaching? Math. In Thailand, the school year ends in March (their summer) so she only has 2 months to go before graduation.

We've been dating for almost 1 year now. Wow. Unfortunately, most of that has been long distance. It will be good to be together again.

More blogs to follow of course once I'm in Thailand. Stay tuned...

Look! There goes Dave!









Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



7th January 2007

White christmas!
It's interesting!!! Keep doing :-)

Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 20; qc: 87; dbt: 0.1153s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb