Road Trip -- Colorado Springs


Advertisement
Published: May 16th 2004
Edit Blog Post

May 16, 2004 Road Trip -- Colorado Springs, CO



Suzanne, Nikki, and I loaded the van about 8:45 am and headed out west toward Colorado Springs. Let me tell you it was a ROAD TRIP! We were on the road 5 hours there and 5 hours back! We only got to spend 3 hours actually in Colorado Springs, but it was better than spending the day in the hotel room.
We passed though several very small towns on the way there. Stopping in Kit Carson to get gas at a convenience store that had a neat little shop in it where you could buy outdoorsy house decorations. They were very expensive. I got my post cards there. Then it as on the road again.
Arriving in CO Springs we were hungry and didn't want to spend much on lunch so we ate at Wendy's. Fat and happy we went to the Garden of the Gods park.
It is a park made up of beautiful sandstone formations made over the years by wind and water erosion. The only formations I recognized from the travel I'd looked at the day before were the Balanced Rock and the North and South Gate which frame Pikes Peak.
At the tourist area I took pictures of Pike's Peak framed between the "gates." In the gift shop I bought a new disposable camera, a Colorado state car-tag keychain that said "Pike's Peak," and two Christian rings.
The weather was beautiful and several people were out biking and hiking on the trails. Others were scaling the formations.
Garden of the Gods is a park made up of beautiful sandstone formations made over the years by wind and water erosion. The only formations I recognized from the travel book I'd looked at the day before were the Balanced Rock and the North and South Gate which frame Pikes Peak. There are many other different and beautiful formations too. At the tourist area I took pictures of Pike's Peak framed between the "gates." In the gift shop I bought a new disposable camera, a Colorado state car-tag keychain that said "Pike's Peak," and two Christian rings. The weather was beautiful and several people were out biking and hiking on the trails. Others were scaling the formations.
After we drove through there we went the short distance to Manitou Springs and shopped in the little downtown tourist shopping area. The neatest thing I saw there was at the dulcimer store. Crystal musical flutes made by Hall. They had flutes, piccolos, and noters made from glass and beautifully hand-designed with flowers, celtic knots, musical notes, or ships. I really want to get one. I played flute in band in grade school and junior high.
Also in that shopping area are a whole lot of dyed cotton clothing stores. The kind of clothes my mom likes alot. I wish she could've been there.
When we got ready to go I bought myself a mocha at a cafe. I wanted to get something I enjoyed for the long trip back.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb