Aspen, adventure, scenery, indulgence....


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Aspen
June 24th 2008
Published: June 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This is one entry like I like them, full of great adventures and indulgence.

We first flew to Denver....this time first class...thanks to Leslie Platinum level on American. Imagine that I find
myself upgraded with him....because of his status on an airline...all this at 7 years old. First night next to Denver
airport, and on the morning, we pick up our little convertible for the few hours drive to Aspen.

The ride is short of 4 hours, but it is an wonderful and scenic drive. You add to this the open roof, and we were
in Aspen just after lunch. Check-in at the St Regis Aspen, so now I can admit, this is very serious indulgence (as
usual on a very special deal, as I don't expect to fork the rate they have!!).

First afternoon, was Lelsie first round in North America, which was also the fourth continent to date on which he
has play golf. Play 9 holes for him, 18 for me, thanks to the buggy.

Next morning, up early to raft on the Roaring Fork river and Colorado river. The lower level is a basic class 2 and
3 levels. We ended up sharing the raft with 6 chinese from Beijing on a long internship in the States. Class 2 is a
little boring for me...but the fun part, it's ended up being boring for Leslie too. The good news...this means he is
now ready and willing for more fun, and I can't wait my next rafting excursion with Leslie and Ma'ri.

On my side, I love rafting. Won't pretend I do it everyday, as my only 2 prior trips were in Cairns and Bariloche.
But wait middle of August...that's going to be a rafting day...even the guides were impressed when I told them where
I was going...but we'll have to wait for that entry, a lot more fun before that!

Yesterday was another great golfing day. Staying at the St Regis gives you few advantages, one of them is the ability
to play on private courses around the Valley at a reasonnable rate. We ended up at Ironbridge. Good that Leslie was
only enjoying the ride and not playing...not really a course for a 7 years old. But Wow, that was true fun golf
course.

We spent the afternoon at the swimming pool and around town. I love Aspen. Will certainly never be able to live there.
The average home price is at 5.3 million USD...even with the real estate crash, it's still very serious money.
The small airport is packed with private jets...I would say there were more than 50 of them. All this without being
show-off. Great and lovely people...and you never know who is the person next to you in the restaurant.

This morning we went back to Denver using the bypass...it's an alpine route through the Independant Pass. This is
seriously nice mountain road...I was warned and equiped for Leslie...happily well equiped, we had to stop few
times due to the many road fitting the perfect image of Monte-Carlo rally, and Leslie using all of the St Regis
paper bags I had packed with us! But still loved it!

Next entry in 3 days, a lot more traditional, but more fun on the program. Till there, have fun, because we have!


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb