Joshua Tree National Park


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
April 13th 2012
Published: April 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My journey began last Friday at 4am when I bolted up in bed, realising that my Resident Return Visa had run out in December 2011. Why I forgot is a complete mystery to me, since I believe I thought of everything else, and I tried to apply online in the middle of the night. We will see if I return on time for week 6, please tell Mrs Reece not too worry too much (just kidding, it should work out just fine).

I’m writing this first proper entry while sitting in Joshua Tree National Park about 4 hours drive southwest from Los Angeles. My bus/train trip to Sydney was very exiting since I was sitting close to a, perhaps, escaped lunatic who kept on laughing to himself but looked so threatening that I didn’t dare to get up and move. I had visions of knifes in his bag and somehow thought if I move, I make him angry. When I changed trains in Campeltown I was sitting next to a very old homeless guy who smelled terrible. Again, I dared not to move, this time I didn’t want to upset the old guy. It’s not easy being me.

After a restful night at my friend Jane’s place in Alexandria I boarded the plane early Easter Sunday and watched one movie after the other to pass the 13 hour trip. I can highly recommend ‘Drive’ with Ryan Gosling. I decided in case I ever run in to him I will propose and clearly he will except and move to Goulburn with me. Or drive there - I let him decide.

Well, and guess who I met when I got to the campervan place after landing in LAX? No, not Ryan Gosling but my male copy. It was hilarious. I jumped out of the taxi and just saw this blond guy in ripped, baggy jeans with a flanny coming down the stairs, little beer belly and getting a bit long in the tooth. I think we both realised pretty quickly that we were looking at our gender reversal doppelgaenger there. And then we began talking and the jokes started. Leaving your everyday behind and going on a trip or journey makes you realise sometimes of how many people you DON’T meet sitting on the couch, playing WOW or Skyrim, or sneaking around other people’s facebook accounts. Enough said.

And here I am, exhausted but happy, watching the sun disappear behind massive sandstone boulders and waiting for my stamina to finally give up and send me to sleep; it has been about 48 hours. I know I will wake up tomorrow and get confused at first, wondering why my dogs bum hasn’t shoved me off the bed when I realise, hey, the poor creature is in doggie jail right now and I’m just starting my holidays in the US. Yeah me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb