Goodbye, North America


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
May 27th 2010
Published: May 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Sonoma County WinerySonoma County WinerySonoma County Winery

Pasterick Winery near Healdsburg
Before I head back to Paris tomorrow, Saturday, just a few photos from two recent trips following my week in Shanghai. As you'll see, the wine country of Sonoma County is gorgeous, as is the Bay of Zihuataneo, Mexico, where I spent 2 nights at a friend's house in the country and then five days with my friend Caroline basking in the sun and swimming in the clear blue waters of the Pacific on Zihua's Playa de la Ropa and Playa las Gatas.

This will be my last entry on this particular blog. Almost a year has passed since I came to the U.S. West last July and began writing about my experiences in this part of the world.

Thanks to all of you who have followed this blog, and a special thanks to those who left comments or sent me a message. I really appreciate your interest in my travels. I look forward to writing again at a future date.



Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

two works in the vast Sculpture Gardentwo works in the vast Sculpture Garden
two works in the vast Sculpture Garden

on the grounds of the Oliver Ranch
Mexico: Friend's houseMexico: Friend's house
Mexico: Friend's house

outside Zihuataneo


28th May 2010

Bon voyage
Dear Hilary - Thanks for your blogs over the past year. I've really enjoyed reading your impressions of the Bay area plus assorted trips, such as your return to Shanghai. "Smiling" was one of my favourites, especially as I read it while we were spending a month post-Olympics in Australia visiting one of our sons who is studying at the U of Queensland in Brisbane. The folks Down Under are a lot like Parisians. They don;t walk around with smiles on their faces but light up when you engage them with a simple "good morning" or offer small courtesies. Too right, mate! Enjoy the joys of grandparenthood. Best regards also to Marlo and Marc, Jack* + Louise
28th May 2010

Welcome back Hilary! Hope to see you before I head over the pond. It's been awhile and I so look fwd to hearing about your impressions, etc - ie: in a cafe bine sur! Thank you for your wonderful thoughts and observations. I've travelled with you! bises - Michele
29th May 2010

wow
Glad to hear you're coming back to this side of the pond. Following you and your travels has been fun. I can't wait for the day we will be able to do the same... Get in touch once you're back. Claire
29th May 2010

Hilary welcome back to old Europe! xxCobi
30th May 2010

back to Paris?
Hilary, Ulla Rosenqvist was just visiting me and sends best regards. You have certainly seen the world! When will you be back in the US? What was it like not having any home base and have been wondering what you do with clothes you need for so many different climates and activities. Can you travel with one suitcase for everything? bon voyage again,

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb