U pick and Butt sliding


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
September 19th 2009
Published: September 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

The air is ripe here. At times the smell of he sea is so thick that you would swear the fog hasn't lifted the blanket of billowy moister that crept in during the night. As I swing inland the aroma changes to sweet strawberry.

I desperately wanted a bowl of fresh fruit.

There seems to be a whole society in the lush and fertile valleys in California of folks who enjoy fresh fruit and veggies, as most every field there are folks out picking.. some times dozens of them.. They seem to be picking fast and a lot though. Maybe it is some sort of sport here.

Soon I am deep into the coast road, and I am thinking that I will be selling the house and moving here. The road is wonderful. It literately sits on the edge of the ocean. At times 5 feet above and others 120 up. The corners are to many to count, and way to fun. I spent about half the day off to the side of my seat.

I lost some time today. So I had to backtrack, down the road, several times, at several places.. I never did find it. So the 11 hours of riding today ended up getting me about half as far, maybe, as I thought I would today. No fear... Well maybe once when I was passing and TWO motor homes came around the corner almost on top of me...

Mr. Bill inquired of several bovine, are they truly happier here? Well the answer was a resounding YES... because they get to wander wherever they want it seems. I did run over a old friend, cow grates in corners. There has to be a better why... what about shock collars?

Mr. Bill and I did watch the sun dip into the Pacific again tonight. Then I decided that I would camp tonight... However for the next hour each camp ground I stopped at was full.. Finally about 8 I was getting more and more leery of drilling holes in the dark, very twisty road, with black cows out wondering about and fatigue was taking over so I stopped at the ..well.. third place I came to. The words "Spa, and Lodge" were passed by in favor of the Surf Inn in Gualala Ca.



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb