Searching for Nothing, Finding it Everywhere


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
October 16th 2007
Published: October 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, well, well, the day is finally come. The Tickets are bought. The bags are packed. The mothers are inconsolable. It feels like a lifetime ago that Jenny and sat down for lunch one day and planned this trip in the most flippant of ways. I remember the conversation as if it were yesterday:
Jenny: "We should go around the world"
Me: "Yeah cool, pass the barbacue sauce"

That's all it took to start the pebble rolling down that hill and that pebble has grown and grown with ever increasing speed until now it has finally come to rest in the form of a fifty pound backpack. Neither of us realized the magnitude of what we had gotten ourselves into and won't until we hit the streets of Costa Rica lugging our entire lives behind us (metaphor?). The planning has been one of the biggest tasks i have ever undertaken. The both of us have been through so much from endless double shifts, to long-distance, to surgery, to undefinable tragedy to get to this point that I feel like a the most difficult portion of our journey has already been completed. So now, as the months have melted to weeks, weeks to days, to a few more weeks (thanks Cynthia), to finally days again, now hours and soon to be minutes. I just want to thank everyone who helped us get to this point. Whether your assistance was financial, or emotional. Whether you gave us contact numbers of places to stay or advice on sights to see or if all you did was express your jealousy that you couldn't come with, we appreciate it all. Jenny and I pledge to capture this trip to the best of our ability so that you all can share the experience with us. So please keep in touch, you can message us through this blog or our respective facebooks and emails. We look forward to the smallest tastes of home that you provide and we'll see you when we get back.
(P.S. I demand immediate and succinct updates on all things regarding the Minnesota Vikings, Los Angeles Clippers and any I Love New York related incidences)
(P.P.S. Enjoy winter suckers)

Advertisement



16th October 2007

von voyage
mike, jenny, good luck. while you two are out of the country there'll be some slack i'll attempt to pick up. Mike: with you gone, the clippers have lost a fan for the season. and we all know the clip's fan base is rather limited, so every last person counts. So my pledge to you is to watch games, learn the players, and maybe even buy a jersey. Jenny with you gone, who else will curse the name, "bacara." so i'll be sure to drink a little extra at work just for you. Well take care you two. And mike thanks again for the chats on life. we'll need to pick up from where we left off upon your return. and who knows, maybe when i graduate i'll be able to meet up with you guys somewhere over the somewhere. ok well take care, be safe. oh and mike: refrane from smuggling drugs up your colon while in south america. trust me, its not as fun as they tell you it is.
16th October 2007

You guys!!!!!!!!!! I am so excited for you! You are both going to change so much and see things you never thought you would see! I am in NY (and since Mike says he loves NY related stories, I thought I would comment!) Life is GREAT, and I am so happy with my decision to move to the big apple! I will let you both know if I become famous anytime soon! Miss you both! Seems like yesterday we were all hangin out at the BEAST and the oasis! Have such a great trip you two, and don't ever look back or get homesick, you have so much to look forward. xoxoxoxoxoxo
17th October 2007

oh thanks...
hey just sayin thanks for saying bye before you left! but its cool ill be at your house tonight for some intense halo LAN action! and dont worrie ill record all the i love new york episodes and well have a big marathon when you get back! have fun you guys and im lookin forward to hearin about it all!
17th October 2007

You Buttheads!!
I will enjoy winter but butts!! You best have the time of your lives over there. Swim naked in the ocean for me will ya!! :)
18th October 2007

what up
Hey hope you had a fun flight. I was sleeping. So have fun and get me some earrings and I'll be sure to hide your leather jacket from buttercup cause i do what i damn well please! bye Jenna
20th October 2007

Good luck!
hey guys! i hope you have a great time traveling!!!! When you get back to the states or santa barbara hopefully you two can come join me and my fiance at the our new restaurant (or the one that we are trying to buy!) have fun!!!!!!
26th October 2007

WOA!
Emma! Congrats on the engagement! That is so awesome. And what is the deal with your restaurant? I canĀ“t wait to come try it when I get back!

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 71; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb