Our Trip to Yosemite


Advertisement
Published: November 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Lunch at AwahneeLunch at AwahneeLunch at Awahnee

the best French Onion Soup
We got up early last week and headed out to Yosemite National Park. It's a 3-hour trip regardless of which of the three entrances you drive to. We took HWY 120 - the trip took 3 hours. The first thing we did was hike up to Vernal Fall bridge. It's an easy hike with a nice view, I told Dave. I was amazed at how much steeper it got since the last time I "walked" it. Then we went to lunch at the Ahwahnee. Best French onion soup ever! Soup and sandwich - only $50. But what a view. Then we drove through the valley while I pointed out to Dave most of the places I had ever lived. With all those moves, it's amazing I ever had a chance to find a job.

From the valley we drove to Glacier Point. There is no way to describe Glacier Point, so I'm not going to try. You just have to see it. From there we drove outside the park to Oakhurst where we met Colette and Grady for dinner.

Next day - back to Yosemite. First stop was Mariposa Grove and the giant sequoias. (Sequoia is the only word
Gates of the ValleyGates of the ValleyGates of the Valley

Dave TRIED to crop me out
that has every vowel in it......except for sometimes Y, but since Y isn't a full-time vowel, I stand by my statement). We hiked up to the Grizzly Giant. Don't worry, I told Dave. It's just a short walk. 2-3 miles later, much uphill, we came across Grizzly Giant. So I took the wrong trailhead. It could have happened to anyone! Grizzly Giant - 2,000 years old. It has branches bigger than most trees.

From there we went back to the Valley and hiked up to Bridalveil Fall. It's an easy walk, I told Dave. And it was short....but really, I didn't remember that it was so steep. From there we strolled through The Ansel Adams Gallery, took a quick "walk" to Lower Yosemite Fall and headed home.

Yosemite is a magnificent place, even though every hike is uphill - both ways.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Glacier PointGlacier Point
Glacier Point

Half Dome in background
Dinner with Colette & GradyDinner with Colette & Grady
Dinner with Colette & Grady

Dinner at El Cid in Oakhurst
Grizzly GiantGrizzly Giant
Grizzly Giant

and the tree is pretty nice too
showing offshowing off
showing off

Dave broke the rock :(


Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0707s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb