Autumn in Yosemite


Advertisement
Published: August 4th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Every August as the heat waves roll through, I start dreaming about Autumn. I know it's a bit early, but its my favorite season. I know its only a matter of time before we start getting that fresh crisp air, changing leaves, pumpkin everything, cozy sweaters, and warm pies fresh out of the oven. Autumn is also a great time to travel to the mountains. We live in the Carolinas and enjoy frequent drives and hikes to the surrounding blue ridge mountain area. In Autumn, we're always trying to catch those beautiful multi-colored leaves before they fall to the ground. These local trips to the mountains are basically what has replaced our bigger travels since the pandemic. But right before the world was flipped upside down with Covid, I got the chance to take a solo trip to experience what Yosemite was like during my favorite season. It was November 2019, and here was my experience.


Every feature glowed with intention, reflecting the plans of God. -John Muir






Getting to Yosemite.

There are a few ways to get to Yosemite, and starting from San Francisco is what I chose to do as it's one of the most popular ways to get started on the journey. Whether you are heading there with a rented camper, a rental car, or through a public bus service. However, my strongest advice is actually to reconsider spending any amount time in San Francisco as I found it to be extremely unsafe. If I had known how bad the crime had gotten there, especially for a solo female traveler such as myself, I would have come up with a different plan. I will elaborate more on that down at the bottom of this blog. Other options include flying in to Los Angeles, Oakland, San Jose, Fresno, or driving through the valley on a bigger road trip. I decided that joining a bus tour was the smartest option for me, since I'm not the greatest navigator. Gray Line has great tour options, which I booked through the Viator website. There is also one called Best Bay Area tours. A quick online search will bring up all of the other bus tours that you can join.



You can request to stay over night inside the park if you book well in advance, as they have lodges in specific areas inside the park. There are even more budget options right outside
Autumn Views in YosemiteAutumn Views in YosemiteAutumn Views in Yosemite

You can almost sense the crisp air through this photo.
the park, including, but not limited to, Airbnbs. And the great thing about visiting in Autumn is that there is a wider availability of places to stay. If you are short on time, you can even make it there and back in one day, with a one day tour. These tours start really early, and end really late to afford you as much time in the park as possible. A short trip to Yosemite might leave you wanting more, but it is still relaxing and enjoyable, none the less.



The Journey Begins

I was picked up from my hotel at 6 am sharp, and I didn't mind that the tour started so early because I was so excited for the journey ahead. Once everyone was on board the bus and checked in, we were ready to go. The city was completely foggy this morning, as it's famously known to be, and because it was a Saturday morning, there wasn't much traffic starting off. Our driver's name was Antonio, and he was such a friendly person. I loved all the commentary and facts he provided to us about Yosemite. As we crossed the Bay Bridge, the long drive began, and it was so beautiful. At one point we came across these Dr. Seuss looking hills, with giant wind powered turbines. It was a bizarre thing to see. The rest of the views on the journey were endless rolling valleys, and farm land. They don't call California the "salad bowl of America" for nothing! I drifted in and out of sleep on the bus, making up for the early start we had. Another great reason to join a bus tour, is you can relax on the way without fighting with maps, although that is fun too haha. We passed tons of almond tree farms, before making our first stop to eat breakfast at a privately owned farm, which had a rustic restaurant inside, but I can't remember it's name. A few coffees and sandwiches later, and we were back on the road. This trip was approximately 3.5 hours long one way, but the time of arrival can vary depending on what you encounter along the way, like traffic or accidents. Luckily in the Fall, there are less chances of encountering traffic. As we got closer to Yosemite, the winding roads got higher in elevation, driving over some steep mountainous areas. Then just as the tree filled forests start to dominate your view, that's when you know you have arrived! We continued driving through tunnels, dense forest, passing by serene rivers, and enormous rocks.





Yosemite Is nearly Perfect in the Autumn

Yosemite is one of the most popular National Parks, and it does get quite busy in the summer. So one of the best reasons to visit Yosemite in the Autumn, is that there are no crowds. Our bus stopped at many overlooks in the Yosemite valley, and to our surprise there were hardly any people at any of the main view points. We practically had Yosemite all to ourselves, or so it seemed. You could really sense the majesty of the mountains, listen to the sounds of the birds, hear the wind softly blowing past tree limbs, and it was unreal! After finishing the tour of the overlooks, which we all really enjoyed, we were dropped off at the main hub where the restaurants and lodges are, to do whatever we wanted for the rest of the day.



I immediately went in search of a hike. Autumn is a great time to go hiking in Yosemite. Not only will there be less crowds on the trails, but the weather will be perfectly cool and comfortable, as opposed to the hot and often stormy weather you get in the peak season. I felt so fortunate to be experiencing hiking at this time of the year, it is very pleasant indeed. I took a brisk hike in the lower flat region known as the Cooks Meadow Loop that encircles the park, and stopped to take photos often. I was very much aware of my surroundings, and I did find evidence of bears along my hike, which gave me quite a nervous feeling. Luckily I didn't encounter any bears at all, or else you probably wouldn't be reading this blog hahah! Just a quick tip, some of the other hikes available in the park do require a permit to do them, which is chosen on a lottery basis. Luckily, with less people on the trails in the Autumn, more permits are usually granted to everyone. The temperature was very nice, it was sunny and in the mid 70's Fahrenheit. Couldn't have asked for a lovelier day!





Cons of visiting Yosemite in the Autumn

Okay, good news is there are hardly any cons for visiting in the Autumn. But if you love waterfalls, and especially want to see them in full force at Yosemite, you won't be seeing very many of them in the Autumn. By October, most of the waterfalls have dried up, although I did see one during my visit. This isn't a deal breaker for me, but I still would have loved to have seen the dramatically beautiful Bridal Veil Falls in its full amazing glory. It also means that the very exciting Mist trail, will not have any mist... although this can be a positive for some people. There are also fewer trees with changing leaves than I was expecting, as many of the trees in the valley are actually evergreen. But I did take every opportunity to photograph the ones I did see showing beautiful fall colors, mostly yellows, and it was lovely. I don't even think the photos do it real justice. And the last thing is, that depending on what month you visit, some of the areas might be blocked off due to heavy snow fall. This wasn't the case for my visit this time, but since the weather here is very unpredictable, you never know.





If you've never visited Yosemite before, I highly recommend that you add it to your list. Especially if you are a nature lover like myself. This is the kind of travel that really inspires me. I will take a National Park over a city, any day. Every turn you take here is a new view. It is 360 degrees of peaceful breathtaking beauty. From the sweet Yosemite Valley Chapel, to the magnificent Half Dome, and Glacier Point, there is so much to capture your heart. Can't say enough great things about Yosemite... but San Francisco is a different story.





My Unfortunate experience in San Francisco

San Francisco is tied to my trip to Yosemite because it was my starting point; where I flew in to, booked my hotel, and where my Yosemite tour is based from. It's where most Yosemite tours are based from. I had no idea that in the last couple of years San Francisco had gotten so unsafe. It's as if no one wants to talk about the reality of what's going on there. Lots of people who visit now say they are shocked at what they see, and like me, say they wouldn't want to return. What you see online, like happy people posing at the Golden Gate Bridge, is only one side of the story. The other side is syringe drug needles scattered on every side walk. It is human feces also on every walking surface. It is mentally unstable homeless people yelling, stealing, and harassing locals and tourists on a daily basis. It is humans dying on the side of busy streets from overdosing. And this is all tied to substance and drug abuse. Many of these homeless people are involved in theft, and assaulting people, because they get away with it. Some of them accumulate countless criminal charges, yet they get cycled right back to the public. On my last day in San Francisco, just as I was walking to get breakfast early in the morning, I had a terrifying encounter with a violent homeless person. I can't recount the story because it sends me into PTSD. What I am hoping to accomplish by sharing all of this is to warn unsuspecting travelers of unknown dangers.
Yosemite Valley Tunnel ViewYosemite Valley Tunnel ViewYosemite Valley Tunnel View

Like looking at a living painting
Please do your research before you go. Check out videos online of what San Francisco is really like so you can see it for yourself. Every major city has crime to speak of, but SF has an unusually bad problem. If you still wish to travel to San Francisco don't go out alone, always travel in groups. Always stay alert, and if you spot an unstable homeless person that looks like they are targeting you, be prepared to defend yourself. The police don't always respond on time. Also keep a watchful eye on your luggage. I know quite a few people who have relocated out of California because of this crisis which seems to grip most of the state, and I agree with their move. Everyone deserves to live in an environment where they feel safe and secure. No one should have to face the frustration and insecurities that locals, tourists, and business owners face here every day.





Ending on a positive note 😊

I have to end this blog on a positive note, because truly Yosemite is the star. There is just so much beauty there, and nothing can beat those incredible mountain views and valleys. I'd love to stay a few days longer next time, inside of the valley lodge. Or maybe rent a small camper, and enjoy a bonfire in the evenings where it is safe to (and if the bears allow us to haha.) I'd spend every day there hiking, hopefully catching a waterfall if the season permits. And without a doubt, I'd want to share this experience with my husband and children next time, now that they are old enough to. It's a great adventure for families, friends, and soloist hikers. I'd certainly bypass the city, and go straight from the airport to the park. I'd take even more photos, because there can never be too many pictures of beautiful places like Yosemite. I feel like nature is the cure to so many things. A walk in the woods has been clinically proven to clear your mind, ease anxiety, and bring about peaceful feelings. Have you experienced Yosemite for yourself? Do you plan to go anytime soon? Have you had a similar bad experience in San Francisco? Would love for you to share.

Safe travels everyone!

Jennifer P.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



5th August 2021

San Francisco vs Yosemite
I agree with you completely. I visited SF last August and it was horrible. I will never visit it again. On the other hand Yosemite is a gem, especially when you can avoid the crowds. I hope you can return with your family.
5th August 2021

:)
Thanks Bob! SF was a shock to me, in all my travels I have never seen anything so terrible. I'm glad it's behind us now! On to better things when restrictions ease up and things get better.

Tot: 0.646s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 38; qc: 142; dbt: 0.1836s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb