BREAKING NEWS: Laura Exists!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Visalia
July 14th 2007
Published: July 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It seemed too good to be true.

There was always a hint of the fairytale-Colin Frizzle ("and he's got a big...")-all a figment of Philip's imagination- about it. But yesterday (I am glad to announce) that I gained irresputable evidence that Laura Taylor, Californian beauty and apple of Philip's eye does, in fact, exist. I even shook her hand.

Ok, so right now we're staying with Tim and Diana Mulick, who are friends of the Taylors in Woodlake and their adorably hyperactive boys: Jacob, Samuel and Thomas. Woodlake is not at all a tourist place - if it was, then believe me, the road signs need improvement! - so what we're getting here is a reallife slice of American family life. They live on a citrus ranch, about 22 acres of orange, lemon and olive groves. Beautiful part of the word, the Sierra Nevada Mountains are just on the doorstep and I'm pretty sure I speak for the whole posse when I say I'll be sad to leave.

Kevin has joined us - that's Claudia's Texan boyfriend FYI (I'm keeping up with the lingo) - he apparently said "y'all" earlier. Yes.

Rachel is feeling a whole lot better, she's not throwing up, not passing out, she's eating more now. She's still talking in her sleep, so although she's still technically insane. Physically, she's back on track.

Rich is... how can I put it... beginning to "do a Phil". His way with the ladies has been scarcely seen in recent YEARS, but let me tell you this: in recent DAYS, he's been a man on a mission. He's taking his job title to heart, so for all you young Californian ladies out there, Richard is the Best Man (for you). Note that today's admirer was Laura's cousin, who's about 10. Ok, so he still needs some work.

Sophie is recovering from sunburn. I made a compliation CD for the trip which we've listened to in the car. It included Baz Luhrmann's "Everybody's Free (To Wear Sunscreen)", but I think Sophie must have slept through that track.

Spud bought a baseball for something like $3.00 and I think it has become quite the compensation after Monday's lost hackysac (no I still don't know how to spell it). Oh and earlier on he sneezed and wiped his hand on Rachel's arm. Her family will read this.

Claudia has been providing navigation laugh a minute with quotes such as: "no, sorry Dan, I meant the other left." Vanity Corner (TM) was our invention back from the first night in LA - it's fairly self-explanitory and we're become quite adept at sharing mirrors, or darkened car windows.

I guess I conclude this rundown (that's rundown, not rubdown). How am I? Dusty, tired, enjoying without so much driving. WCBear, you'll be pleased to know I'm getting some ushing/ushering experience, I'll be a dabhand at it by this time tomorrow. I've enjoyed playing with the boys today and last night, once they realised we a. were human (Tom Tom wasn't sure at first) and b. don't bite.


I'm taking this opportunity to write a little more than usual, I'm not restricted by the number of dollar bills I can find in my wallet and we're heading awf cross-country to Yosemite and Lake Tahoe over the course of the next few days so interweb access will be unlikely. I'm not sure of the exact plans yet - I'm only the driver. :-) I'll let you know what we've done in maybe 4 or 5 days when we get into San Francisco, but whatever happends - we will not find anyone more hospitable, nor will we enjoy our stay anywhere else as much as right here. We're coming back in a few years. No question. Mulicks (and and Grandma/Grandpa Frey), if you ever wind up reading this. Thank you. Really.

It's hot here. We left the coast to head into the valley and simultaneously left behind the ocean coolness, we're talking maybe forty degrees, but the Americans don't understand that, so then we're talking about a hundred.

Tomorrow is the big day. We persuaded Philip, no wait. Rachel told Philip not to stay with his parents at the Taylors. We're going to play a practical joke on him in the morning to scare him into thinking that he's late. I may also pretend to run out of petrol on the way. I will of course have my brand new camera handy to capture the moment. Did I mention I got a new camera? If I keep in it top-notch condition, might even sell in the UK for a profit. My mum'll be pleased to hear that, but for the rest of you, I think I might sell my old one!

Quick notes:
>When we finally arrived at Laura's yesterday, Phil just said: stay in the car and follow us. But where he lead us was airconditioned and had a pool.
>Airconditioning and pools are very good things.
>Stop signs are the bane of my driving. Yet I must admit, they do work.
>Diana's mum lives about 100 metres down the lane, they use a golfcart to go between.
>My sofa awaits. Goodnight all.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb