Solvang here we come


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Ventura
April 18th 2011
Published: April 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

At Catuma LakeAt Catuma LakeAt Catuma Lake

Heaps of Eagles soared right over us.
Today I went Geocaching in LA. I found 2 squirrels, heaps of interesting birds and a little league game, but no geocaches. The little league game was played by 10 year olds. They came out to the pitch just like proffessionals, took their stance, had their name called out across the loud speaker with a proffessional commentry. The referee was padded up, swept the plate and used dramatic hand gestures, It was like on the movies...our way is so down-home compared to theirs. I saw a family in the park setting up for a big birthday with a huge pinata. Looked like fun.
I stood in line for almost an hour to hire a car. Had a sales person who just wasn't interested in anything but upsizing me to a bigger car, more insurance. I didn't get the Pontiac I had ordered but took a Ford Focus which is quite nice to drive. I kept saying no.
I absolutely love the GPS system as it was clear and made driving so much more enjoyable knowing where to go. I really have to think and concentrate as driving on the wrong side of the road is difficult. I have a new respect
SolvangSolvangSolvang

Hard to capture how picturesque the town is.
for tourists who come to us.
Seeing some really nice natural places now and loving the landscape and the quieter areas. We drove into Solvang which is a small town settled by the Danish and is pretty much all in keeping with traditional Danish style. 4,000 people live here and it is absolutely quaint, picturesque and pleasant. I will get better photos tomorrow. I wonder what Oamaru would be like if we all got behind the 19th centurary theme? I for one would be keen to expand our precinct.
Finally now we are in ranch country we had dinner at a cowboy themed restaurant. Of course I had spare ribs. J could be a cowboy if it wasn't for the beans.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Penny Has Spare RibsPenny Has Spare Ribs
Penny Has Spare Ribs

Real cowboy for a waiter


18th April 2011

Solvang - Getty etc
Aren't ribs amazing? But then so is everything you're seeing. Americans do things on a grand scale. Make sure you see everything you can and thanks for the blog.
19th April 2011

I will support your Oamaru precinct expansion. If it could look like Solvang, wouldn't that be amazing. Looks beautiful. Were you even a little tempted to hire a mustang, ferrari or some other huge US motor home? Enjoy the rest of your travels
21st April 2011

Submissions for WDC Annual Plan closed today - sorry you missed out. And by the way, they drive on the correct side of the road! LOL Love your blog!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb