Third Day--To the Beach!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Ventura
July 14th 2010
Published: July 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The BeachThe BeachThe Beach

At Marina Park, Ventura, CA
We left Williams, AZ and headed for California. The weather was perfect the entire trip. Blue skies and open road. We stopped in Seligman for gas...$3.29 a gallon!! Yeah it hurt. Anyway, Arizona is beautiful and we saw some awesome rock formations. Rocks appeared to be stacked on top of each other and looked like they could fall over anytime. Entering California! Lots of desert for awhile with funky looking cacti. Then out of nowhere...snow capped mountains appeared. Big mountains!! I was impressed. And the scenery just got better from there. We stopped in Barstow at a Travel Center for gas...still $3.29. Then we got on the 15 headed for Los Angeles. Great the battery in my camera just died. No pics of LA for me. Highway 15 goes through some mountains and everywhere you look there is something to see. Trevor told me that the reason my battery died is that there are some things people just have to see for themselves. He might be right because it's amazing here. So, we headed into LA on the 101, well we would just be going around it. The traffic is picking up and let me tell you...people drive crazy around the
WavesWavesWaves

The beach in Ventura
LA area. Blinker goes on and then the car is coming over whether you want it to or not. Sports cars speeding past and little ladies driving big mercedes going 40 in a 70. We saw the skyline of LA. Trevor was excited. He loves the LA Dodgers. We went through Studio City, Burbank, and Hollywood. Lots of production companies could be seen from the road. We stayed on the 101 into Ventura. The temperature started dropping and you could feel the air change. We were near the ocean. First stop, the hotel. Then target to get my camera battery, then to the beach!! We missed our turn to go to the state beach in Ventura, but accidentally ended up at Marina Park. It had a playground, a zip line, and the beach!! We all had a lot of fun here. Devin played on the playground, Trevor took a trip down a zip line, and I played in the cold, cold water. I loved it!! I've decided I need to make a million (or more) so I can live on the beach in Ventura. Trevor and Devin loved the ocean, too. Dave took pictures of us frolicking in the waves.
Palm TreesPalm TreesPalm Trees

Everywhere you look...palm trees.
Then we ate at IN AND OUT!! It was great...the fries are the best I've ever had. Then we shopped at Trader Joes and got some great Brie cheese, wine, and cookies. We went back to the hotel and Trevor went swimming in the pool. I sat outside in the breeze and watched him. The air was so crisp and clean. The sky was clear. I love Ventura!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Headed to the OceanHeaded to the Ocean
Headed to the Ocean

Dave, Devin, and Trevor headed into the Ocean.


14th July 2010

Havin too much fun!
Love the pic, I still don't believe you leaned over for that pic of the squerrel - nice pic, and I am proud of you! Just talked to Deb we are meetin them at the KOA at the Casade Locks toniht. I feel like an idiot - it never fells, I try to do somethin that I think is nice for someone, and I turn out to be the idiot.... and the one people think bad about .. talkin about callin you about Ray's problem. I need to leave this area!!!! They suck me in .....!!! and I turn out to be the bad person.... I need sanity in my life! Love, Susan
20th July 2010

Sounds like you're having a blast! We're holding things together at work.... Barely. Ha! Just kidding, we'll survive. Hope you're enjoying your time off!

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb