Today is the Day! Australia Bound!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Vacaville
August 5th 2015
Published: August 5th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I can't believe we are doing this again...flying hours across the Pacific to a far away destination. As a girl who is not a big fan of flying, that is the most stressful part of any vacation! But, I won't bore you with my flying fears. I know you have all heard them before, lol! (Thanks for listening. :-))

One thing I love about a vacation that departs from San Francisco is the chance to spend a few days at home in Vacaville before we travel. It is nice to be here, relaxing and visiting with friends. I'm so grateful that despite the time that has passed since we left that we still take the opportunity to see one another and pick up right where we left off. We never have enough time here!

So, why Australia? And, why so last minute?

After surviving all of the painful experiences of last year, we were determined to make this year a fun one! We talked many times about leaving our jobs and spending the entire year traveling the world. Fortunately and unfortunately, we are those overly responsible people who just couldn't quite take that leap. After we got back from New Zealand in March, we both knew that we weren't doing exactly what we wanted to do as far as work is concerned. So, long story short, Aaron wrapped up his contract in San Francisco at the end of April, and I decided to take some pre-requisite courses and get serious about this going back to nursing school thing. I continued to work part-time and took three online courses over the summer. When I found out my fall school schedule would not allow me to continue working in the fall, I put in my notice and got serious about planning a trip in the three weeks I have completely free between the end of summer classes and the beginning of fall classes. The Australia trip was born! That was not even three weeks ago yet! This is truly a last minute trip!

So, why Australia? First of all, we both (Aaron especially) want to see the Great Barrier Reef. Secondly, Australia is far, far away, and we want to go when we have the time to make the long trip worth it by being able to stay there for a while. We will spend several days in Sydney, fly north into Queensland where we will sail and snorkel in the Whitsunday Islands, travel up the Queensland coast by car, ultimately stop in Cairns from where we will fly to Ayers Rock, spend a few days in the Australian Outback, and then fly back to Sydney and home to San Francisco. I will have one night in Vacaville before flying back to Indiana late on Friday night. I'll start classes the following Monday. That will be interesting. When we got home from New Zealand we were both eating and sleeping at weird times thanks to the enormous time change. I think for the first time in my life I truly experienced the wonders (yea, right) of real jet lag. It took almost two weeks to get back on track. I don't expect this time change (14 hours from Indiana, 17 hours from California) to be an easy one, but as I know from traveling to New Zealand, it is worth it.

So, there you have it. We don't fly until 10:30 tonight, so we have all day to do laundry, go for a walk, rest, and enjoy sunny California before heading to the airport. I will try to keep this blog updated with pictures and stories as I have the opportunity to do so. Next time you hear from us we will be in Australia!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb