09 WCT Day 8 The base and heading to Jackson


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Twentynine Palms
September 22nd 2009
Published: October 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

29 Palms Mural29 Palms Mural29 Palms Mural

My favorite one
Day 8 - TUE - 22 SEPT

Scout and I raise early to get to the HD dealer Hutchins in Yucca Valley, CA. I find that travelers do not have a priority there. First come first serve, I will be 5th in line. As I talk with the service guy I become uneasy. It could have just been me, but he just didn't give me a warm fuzzy feeling. Before I turn Effie over to someone I really want that warm fuzzy that they are competent and she is in good hands. He estimated that it would be $180 for them to diagnose the problem. His plan was to take it out for a ride until they could hear the problem. The problem did not sound good I was not in favor of the first step being to reproduce it. The more we talked the less I wanted to leave Effie in his care and the less I trusted his judgment. When I noticed that an oil change was $140 I knew this dealership was a not my kind of dealership. HD dealerships are steep but OMG $140 for an oil change? K.Y. included? By the time it was time
29 Palms Mural29 Palms Mural29 Palms Mural

Another really nice one!
to get the odometer reading off the bike, I told him to not even worry about the electrical issue I would find it. He makes some crack about installing a penny in the fuse and just following the smoke to the problem. If someone thinks your proficient in your profession then it’s a funny comment, if the person you are talking to already thinks you are incompetent in your profession then its not funny, it only confirms their beliefs. He came out to the bike and was impressed that the sporty was all set up for some serious road travel, but the more he talked the less I wanted them near her. I told him I needed a little time.

I called Karl, a friend I met at Bonneville the previous week and asked his opinion on things that might be done before a test ride. Karl was very good with Sam’s bike when we were on the salt. Karl was one of those guys that paid attention to the little details every time he touched the bike. He didn’t get hurried where he cut corners. There was always time to do it right. That Saturday morning we parted he had handed me his business card and told me to call him if I needed help this side of TX. Words he might soon have regretted.

Karl suggested draining the primary oil and seeing if there was anything unusual in the oil. That seemed like a very reasonable thing to do first. Karl owned & operated a Harley dealership in Panama. He is a factory trained HD tech. When I suggested that they might first do an evaluation of the primary oil to the dealership, the guy went nuts. Saying it was bullshit… now I got this guy screaming at me. I think he was mad that I had called someone and asked their advice which contradicted his first step in diagnoses. I had disagreed with most of what this dick had been saying, but I never raised my voice, was aggressive or argumentative during our conversation. I had told him I was uneasy about his suggestion and why. I had treated him with respect even though I had little for what he had said. I also had not given him the key to the bike which spoke volumes. Scout is standing there with me. Now Scout is not a big guy, but he easily has his share of muscles. A 29 yr old career Marine. Scout took a step forward when the guy starts his tirade. Maybe as a reminder to the guy there were 3 people there, not just him and the 50 yr old woman he is screaming at. He said it would be a waste of time to look at the oil but that he would lend me an oil pan so I could change the oil if I wanted. I told him I would get back to him. At this time I am frapped. Already stressed that Effie has what seems to be major problems now I am stuck at a stealership in the true sense. A stealership that would not agree to do such a basic primary evaluation.

At this point I have no faith in the Hutchins HD. Assuming they could fix Effie at some point without me having to sell Scout to pay for it. I would still have no faith in the bike. I can not take off across the country on a bike that I do not trust. The only thing I know is that this dealership is going to take me for all the money they can if I leave the bike in their care. Man, I got to get out of here.

I called Karl and told him about the guys reaction. Karl said he would come and get us if I wanted. I told him that would be great. It was an over an 8 hour drive from Jackson CA to Yucca Valley CA.

Scout and I decided to take the dealership up on the offer of an oil pan and look at the primary oil. When we went to the guy and asked for a pan he said he would have to check. Then he comes back with the comment that they are not Napa and gives us an oil pan. Adding the comment that they would not lead any tools. I told him I didn’t need any tools, I had all I needed with me. It only took moments for us to get another qt of Formula + and we were draining the oil. While laying on the ground with Scout tipping the bike I noticed that my kickstand was barely staying on. I had heard on the XL-list that others had had their kickstand fall off and mine was about to. There was not anything unusual in the oil. I returned the oil pan. We refilled the oil, parked the bike, locked the fork and left.

On the way back to his house, Scout asked if I would like to see the base. Of course I would. We stopped by his office and I met his officers and coworkers. Then he took me on a tour of the main base area. That was really nice. On the way back he drove me by a few murals so I could get pictures. We stopped and had a nice Chinese meal then went home so I could pack and do one last load of laundry.

That afternoon I get a call from TAG a friend I met through the American Legion Riders unit I belong to. TAG had served in the AF then got out and decided to go back into the service but as a Marine. He was now serving in CA. TAG is one of those guys that bring the best out of everyone around him. He knew I was coming to CA and had said he would visit me if he could. I had emailed him Saturday and told him I was in town so he called on Sunday and said he hoped he could come for a visit either Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday. My original plan was to head home on Thursday. TAG plans to come visit this evening. He knows it will be a tight schedule tonight but he still plans to come. I am so glad he did. TAG is such a good person and it was so good to see him. He brought his new bike and took me for a ride. We had dinner at Denny’s while talking about just everything. He had traveled over 2 hours for our visit. And would have over 2 hours to get back to his home.

I had asked Karl to call when he was about an hour out so we could get to the dealership before him. Scout lives about 35 miles from the dealership. He called while TAG and I were at dinner, so we went back to the house. The roommates all said goodbye and we loaded the last of my stuff into Scouts car, TAG followed us to the dealership
Roomate ChrisRoomate ChrisRoomate Chris

Chris was so nice. We watched chick flicks together.
to help load the bike. Karl was already there and waiting when we arrived. The dealer had a perfect place to load and unload bikes from trucks, so we used their front dock and in no time Effie was in the back of Karls truck. One last set of pictures and we all go our own ways.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

TAG and his rideTAG and his ride
TAG and his ride

to dark for good photos
TAGS bikeTAGS bike
TAGS bike

This pic is for his mom.


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb