09 WCT Day 6 - 7 In California


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Twentynine Palms
September 21st 2009
Published: October 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Scout in his natural HabitatScout in his natural HabitatScout in his natural Habitat

World of WarCraft, he has played it for years. Its better than him out drinking.
Day 6- Sunday.

Man this was nice. We did nothing. We slept in and sat in the airconditioning all day. I was ready for that.
It had been a couple days since I was on line so now I am on-line so I got to catch up on my email. Three guys are living here at the house so they played World of WarCraft and I got to nap and relax. I was beat. We had McDonalds. Life is good. We watch the three movies "Feast". What a hoot. I had only seen the first one, when it came out on DVD. It was one of the Project Greenlight movies. So I had watched on TV the process of making that film. I had shared my enthusiam for the flick with Scout and over the years he had kept track of it and bought the 2nd and 3rd movies when they came out. By the time the 3rd movie was playing all the roommates, Scout and I were glued to the TV.

Its always nice to visit Scout or have him visit so I can play with all his toys I can't afford.

Scout lives in a little
The HouseThe HouseThe House

Great not to have grass.
2 bedroom house with 1 bathroom. Its just the right size for these guys. Both his roommates are nice guys and make me very welcome.

When I had time I called Screwloose Dan and talked to him about the issue I was having with Effie. His is the MacGiver of sportys. I don't know anyone that knows more about them then him.. a real handy guy to have on a ride. He is a quite doer, not a talker. We discussed it and gave me a couple ideas.

Day 7 - Monday

What I know is there is no way I want to move to CA. I had been playing the idea of just up and moving. My son is out here and I hate the KS winters but this is horrible hot. Although the sand front lawn does sound great, the stifling heat that goes with it is not worth it. If its like this in Sept I would hate to be here in July.

Doing some laundry and getting Effie to the shop is the main goals. We headed to the dealer in the morning only to find they are closed on Mondays. On the way to the dealer I discovered that the electrical problem looks to be a fuse. The bike runs fine, but I didn't have power to the signals or the horn. The dummy lights lite up and the red key on the speedo still lites up. I could get it to tell me any codes though. When we got to the dealer and found it was closed I decided to just bring the bike back to my sons house. On the way back to the house I saw a radio shack. So I pulled into the parking lot. When I pulled in there came this god awfull grind, clank, snapping noise coming from the bike. I hit the shut-off within 3 ft of the noise starting.

We pushed it into a parking lot and I saw we shared the lot with a Dennys so I told Scout it was time for lunch. As we sat there I thought to call Adam the service manager at Central HD in Olathe. I trust them. I told him of my problems. He offered to help me troubleshoot the electrical issues over the phone. Bless his heart. He mentioned that I could get replacement 15 amp fuses at any auto supply store. I asked Adam if he had any contacts at the dealer that I might get it locked inside the dealership today. He didn't. He suggested that we start it again and test run it around the parking lot to see if it could make it back to the dealer. After we eat thats what we do. It seems fine, no grinding or abnormal noise or operation. I make a loop and tell Scout to follow me since I don't have any tail lights or blinkers. I tell him I am not going to get out of 2nd so take it easy behind me. We take it to the dealer, park it on the sidewalk with the rain cover on it. While at Dennys I had written a note to the dealer about the trouble and planned on dropping it and the keys in a key drop. Fortunately for me they didn't have a key drop.

Scout and I returned home.

Advertisement



3rd October 2009

So ....
What was wrong with the bike?

Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb