Country Cowboy Church


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Tuolumne
October 21st 2007
Published: October 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

When we’re on project we all go to the hosting church the first Sunday, and then we’re free to go to any church the rest of the time. This morning most of us went to the Country Cowboy Church…you wear jeans and boots, and can leave your cowboy hat on until the service starts! It is very down to earth. It’s a small church building, capacity 240, and it was full, with a few people standing. And they were ENTHUSIASTIC…boot stomping to make a point, clapping for nearly everything, and lots (way too much) hugging! The band had a base fiddle,two banjos, a guitar and a tambourine. Of course a piano, but big deal on that, it was the rest that was exciting! And a terrific message. The art work was definitely religious (for lack of a better word), but they were all cowboy, and very fitting. The cross was made of horseshoes, and the collection baskets were rope, wrapped into a basket shape! (I thought of Gail Smith, and how much she and her guys would enjoy it!) I guess they have these churches all over the country; they said they just opened one outside of Missoula.

Something that made us laugh: the restrooms are at the front, on either side of the pulpit…tell you what, that cuts down on foot traffic during the service! When you come out you’re facing the entire congregation!! I could wait!

Sunday School is over at the Watering Hole. We didn’t go over, but I’m hoping it isn’t a bar. Probably is, but that doesn’t seem quite right, does it? I wonder how they take communion!

I don’t mean to be disrespectful, because the message was very insightful, and obviously it works without all the fluff of most churches. And I would recommend all churches consider moving their restrooms! It was interesting, but I don’t think I’m in favor of going again next week. I kind of got saddle sores from this one time!




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Another interesting oneAnother interesting one
Another interesting one

Hey, what do you expect? You think I took pictures in church???? :)
This looks like Oregon,This looks like Oregon,
This looks like Oregon,

but it's a tree up the hill from us. This isn't common here, but most of the tree are green on at least one side.


22nd October 2007

Miss you terribly!!!
Your messages and pictures and so fun and interesting at the same time. Thank you for sounding like yourself in them. It brings you so much closer and we miss you so much. You were the best neighbors we have ever had!!! And a hard act to follow. We love you and pray for you and your ministry. I have to admit that we also pray a little selfishly and pray that God brings you back this way safe and sound.
23rd October 2007

Hello, from ND
I finally had a chance to get caught up on your blog! I was so far behind I even made a bag of popcorn to enjoy with the show! What a beautiful adventure you are on! I love your personal comments along with the stories....it is like carrying on a conversation with you! Hi, Patty! North Dakota misses you both! I am waiting to see if you get to practice building dog kennels!! Hugs from here! Love you guys! Jean
23rd October 2007

Back at you, my dear friend...
as blessed as we are to be doing this, it's so hard to be away from friends. It's my privilege to share with you.
23rd October 2007

Hey, if you want dog kennels,
you're our summer project. Just say the word, and we'll be living by your garbage bins!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb