Driving through the mountainside cliffs of Sonoma


Advertisement
Published: May 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone! Today we set out for a scenic drive through the Redwood Forest and up the California Coastal highway 1. It was a long windy road going up, down, and around hairpin turns so sharp that a couple hours later we were actually kind of car sick! We started off at Goat Rock, one of the many enormous formations coming out of the Pacific. There were beautiful pieces of driftwood, gorgeous flowers, big pieces of kelp, and pebbles everywhere. We drove for about an hour after that looking at the cows on the sides of the mountains wondering how they could balance on the edges without falling down the side! Kind of fast forwarding bc Im exhausted right now, we stopped at a wine and cheese shop on the way back in Guerneville. We bought 3 types of cheese and some red wine and had a picnic on the side of a hill. We made some new friends, ducks!haha It sounds silly but they were really cool.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



29th May 2009

OMG
omg!! Each day is more exciting than the one before, watching your trip unfold. What fantastic rocks! Boulders! I remember Hwy
29th May 2009

omg 2
....hit the wrong button on keyboard! so as I was saying, I was on hwy 1 twice before, at different times in my life, Katie. It is a truly unbelievable ride and I want Jamie to do the same. If I remember right it starts on one end on the West coast and goes to the far opposite end, right? Like over here we have hwy 17 that almost does the same thing. But that ride you were/are on is one you will never never forget. What about seals?? I remember seeing lots of seals. You saw cows and ducks though!! And that big piece of pizza brie cheese you're biting into looks mighty good! Jordan, I would like to get in touch with your dad and talk with him about your adventure. Can you give him my number? Or, John, it's 843-345-6566 if you can call me if you are reading along these comments. I would like to meet you guys at the airport when .... you.... come... :-O home! Katie, I want to see you walk out thru security and compare you to when I saw you do the same after Alaska... :) Have a fun and awesome day today, be safe, ... and what about those redwoods??????? wild, huh? Bye for now, look forward to tomorrow morning. I want all these pics on cd. --mom/julia
29th May 2009

post office
I hope you guys sent us all postcards from that nice little post office!!!! lol
29th May 2009

HEYA
Hey guys! Yall look like you are so full of youth and having so much fun. I'm totally jealous - wish I was out there with you right now. Hope yall have a great weekend, and can't wait to see postings from your next adventures!

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb