Reality Check


Advertisement
Published: November 28th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Visiting Kat in Santa Barbara was sobering in ways that I can't explain. Perhaps it's because we're the same age, grew up together, and we're young lovers once. Perhaps she reminds me of the time that we've lost being wanderers and wasting our youth. I look forward to and dread our meetings. Not because there's no love there, but because I know we will always have honest conversations that go deep, to our insecurities. That's what happens in relationships when you only see each other once or twice a year. The transition from "Hello! How are you?" to "What are you doing with your life?" is much faster than in normal relationships. We always know the real score so we can't pretend that we have everything together like the impression that most people have of us.

I am so proud of what she has accomplished. Moving to America means a lot of adjustment. She wasn't as comfortable in English as I was. I remember her almost crying when her customers were so frustrated at her at the gas station because she couldn't understand them.

She met me at the Greyhound bus station in Santa Barbara with her two room mates. The three of them work in the military base. I was immediately impressed with Santa Barbara upon arriving. I loved the architecture. I don't know if that style is unique to Santa Barbara. It looked Spanish or Mexican villa inspired.

It was summer and yet it was cold. Cold for a tropical guy like me that is. But to give you a frame of reference, summer in Santa Barbara is colder than summer in the southern parts of British Columbia, Canada.

I easily fit in with the boys who were actually just nerds like me, although they work in the military. I was actually rather worried that I'd have to hang out with brusque men that I'd have nothing in common with. This is when the social skills learned from hanging out with backpackers in hostels around the world kicks in. Often it is actually easier to talk to people of other nationalities these days. Perhaps because it's only small talk when you meet new people and hang out together for a few days. Because in most of my relationships, I'm only good for the first few weeks. This is what I'm working on with my shrink.

They lived in a gated community. They called the ones outside the wall "Wildlings" in reference to Game of Thrones. I heard some of the drama from behind the wall. Yelling matches between married couples. Kat said they'd even hear gun shots sometimes. I grew up in the ghettos of Manila so I wasn't intimidated.

We visited vineyards because I wanted to see grapes. I've never seen grapevines with grapes before this year. I thought it was so luxurious. I was living my fantasy walking along the vineyards and wineries. It of course got most of the "wow" from my Filipino friends in Facebook because that's something we don't have. I've tasted fresh peaches for the first time! They are soooo good. I've only seen canned ones in Manila, and baked ones in peach danish. There were also pomegranates and other fruits I've never seen before and therefore took lots of pictures of. But peaches are the best. They are so fragrant when ripe. Walking along the peach trees made me so happy because it smelled so nice. It's like you're a bride walking down the aisle and people spray cologne instead of petals.

Solvang is a little Danish village founded by Danish settlers. It felt so out of place there in California. Kat who has lived in Europe said it looks just like the real thing. So we had Danish pancakes with fresh strawberries and cream and freshly squeezed orange juice. I think that was the first time I've had freshly squeezed orange juice in a restaurant because I've never been willing to pay the high price for it. Kat paid.

Pismo beach is not something to write about. The wind was cold, and so was the water. It didn't feel like it was summer. It felt like everyone was there that Sunday.

We went hiking with Dodger. Kat's Alaskan Malamute/Siberian Husky. He practically pulled me up the mountain because my legs are still too weak for that hike. One of the kids we came across with commented "That dog is walking you!"

It's strange saying goodbye to a dear friend you don't often see. You always wonder if it is the last. She drove me to the Greyhound station. The day felt ripe with nostalgia.

The bus going back to LA was about two hours late. I did not expect it to be that late because this is America not the Philippines. I was wrong. I was so worried I wouldn't make it to my flight to Canada. I never prayed so hard in my life. Missing that flight would mean another $300. I got to the counter just 30 minutes before my flight. I had to pay the cab $56 from downtown LA to LAX! I've never paid so much money for taxi before. I planned to just take the bus but I was pressed for time. Lesson learned.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



28th November 2016
Solvang

Santa Barbara County
How great that you visited your deep, true friend Kat and my part of the world! You're so right about being able to speak those initial, hostel travelers' chats with everyone--congrats on doing it here! I'm from Santa Barbara, where the architecture is called Spanish Colonial Revival. We had a big earthquake in 1925, the town was destroyed and rebuilt as an Andalusian village, and it is so beautiful! It used be cold only in June mornings due to fog (June Gloom), but since climate change, it's also foggy more of the summer--so sorry; normally, August is frying! I think you must have been staying in our north county (maybe Santa Maria or Lompoc?) because in coastal SB, we don't have gated communities, gun shots, or military bases (Vandenberg). Glad you got to see grapes growing, taste fresh oj and eat fresh peaches! Our agriculture is fabulous. Happy travels!
29th November 2016
Solvang

Santa Barbara County
Yes I stayed in Lompoc. I was there in August. I love your part of the world :)
29th November 2016

On the road again
Does this mean your leg is fully mended and you are exercising your travel itch in your usual uninhibited manner Harold? You are looking great. Kinda didn't realise you may not get the fruits of temperate climates in the Philippines. Enjoy the flavours and fragrances wherever you go.
29th November 2016

On the road again
It's healed but it's not like it used to be for sure. Nothing crazy like a long hike yet but there's still lots to do. I jumped out of a plane and off a cliff into the water in this trip. Those were more than enough to whet the appetite of the adrenaline junkie in me. I guess because I purposely went in the summer so I can have the novelty of wearing shorts and slippers in North America that I was just a bit disappointed that it wasn't as warm as I would have liked.
3rd December 2016
Solvang

We also went to Solvang
We also went to Solvang. It was a fun place to visit for an hour or two. /Ake
3rd December 2016
Solvang

We also went to Solvang
Yup it definitely was. Lots of cute stores, cafes, and restaurants. We enjoyed sitting in a park bench while eating ice cream. I can see myself hanging out there every Sunday morning if I lived in Santa Barbara

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 26; qc: 105; dbt: 0.1115s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb