almost 2009


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Santa Barbara
December 29th 2008
Published: December 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's been a whirlwind so far...very busy, lots of fun, but somewhat surreal as we are visiting home and will soon return to the "real world" of life in China. 2009 has so much potential for all of us, but I'm apprehensive to say the least. I got used to our life in China, but now I'm back home and this life is mighty nice. I missed everyone. I missed our house. I missed a lot of the ease of life. Since being back home, though, I have also missed things in China (not just the full time housekeeper and the very low priced massages). I miss the constant flow of new experiences that just a trip outside of the apartment might afford. I miss the sense of accomplishment I feel after successfully communicating even the shortest interchange in Chinese. It will be good to go back and we'll all get back into our routine there. I don't feel like we're done with our Chinese adventure, but I am so glad we've had time to see friends and family.

Seeing the impact of the economic crisis first-hand in the US has been both disturbing and enlightening. Stores are going out of business, sale prices are crazy cheap and I wonder how long it will be this way. I appreciated buying a pair of $150 shoes for $19.99 but it's scary.

We had a great Christmas with the Slaven side of the family and are currently in Santa Barbara with my family through New Year's. We have been eating some pretty amazing meals while back home and have yet to have an Asian meal. The weather in California is much nicer than Chicago. We were in snow last week and now are spending time playing at the beach. It's not super warm here, but warm enough.

Nathan is having a tough time with the time change, and he's fighting a pretty bad cold. Not fun. This results in many wake-ups and Mark has been doing a lot of night duty. I am still on Central time here in California, so that means early wake ups and early bedtimes. I doubt very much we'll make it to midnight on New Year's Eve. 10pm would be impressive at the rate we're going. I'm extra glad we have a week to readjust in Shanghai based on Nathan's sleep issues and our busy, busy pace this last 2 weeks.




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.224s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb