Day 4: More rowing and downtown SF


Advertisement
Published: July 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

A bit squashedA bit squashedA bit squashed

This is what you get when your host is mad keen on rowing. I didn't mind though - that rigger did come 5th in the 1996 Olympic games.
This morning began with another early start and an opportunity to go sculling with Berkeley Paddle and Rowing Club, who train on a small lake next to the freeway. I was told I have a near perfect hip drive, which made my day 😊 Also saw a blue heron and an egret. I then helped de-rig and load the boats for tomorrow's regatta which - mercifully - I have managed to escape competing in.

I then caught the BART into downtown San Francisco. First I wandered around the massive food 'farmers' market held each Saturday in Embarcadero, around the Ferry Building. Increasingly trendy/yuppie, there were loads of 'organic' stalls. I couldn't help but remember the Armstrong + Miller sketch, since how glass jewellery can be either organic or come from a farm is quite beyond me. I then headed along Market St towards the MOMA (museum of modern art), only getting moderately distracted by the shopping district and thus losing a few hours. Anyone who said clothes were cheap in the US is lying though, especially since they stick a massive VAT on at the till. I also discovered a jazz festival in Yerba Buena Gardens, outside the Contemporary Jewish Museum, which was nice.

The MOMA was brilliant, with an especially good temporary exhibition of paintings once collected/owned by the Stein family (apparently Gertrude Stein is a famous writer). Lots of Picasso, Matisse, Renoir etc. Also some more weird and wacky items, including two separate exhibits of a urinal (different artists, but identical apart from the orientation; one was entitled 'fountain' which I thought showed considerable ignorance of function).

After buying out almost every postcard in the shop (museum shops pretty much being the sole reason I visit museums) I had to brave Macys to find the post office hidden within. Unfortunately I was still half dressed in stash and not wearing any makeup, so got several hostile stares as I blindly wandered about the cosmetics section asking where I could buy stamps. Not sure I'm kitted out for sophisticated city living after all.

Then came back to El Cerrito and got another life experience: using a public laundrette (Teddy Bear Wash and Dry). It was only after I got there that I realised my bra and pants also needed a wash, so there was a pretty awkward shuffle in the corner to try and remove them without flashing the whole neighbourhood. Anyway, I leave tomorrow so it hardly matters if they did see anything.

Fact for the day: American red starburst are cherry flavour, not strawberry. Also not as good, in my opinion.

Advertisement



10th July 2011

Genuine Norfolk cotton
Stop quibbling about farm-grown organic glass jewellery. I remember a small shop in Fakenham claiming to sell "genuine Norfolk cotton". I am glad you are having fun. Thank you for writing it up for the rest of us.

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb