Santa Rosa - Yosemite


Advertisement
Published: March 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Blooming treesBlooming treesBlooming trees

These trees were really blooming. Don't know what kind they were but there were lots of them.
March 13 Santa Rosa - Mariposa (outside Yosemite).
Got on the road around 1100 and drove south on the 101 to the Junction with the I-580 where I went East over the San Rafael - Richmond Bridge. I stayed on I-580 as it went East then South intertwining with I-80 and I880 to turn back East again finally as I-580. It goes out East through south Oakland and finally gets to Dublin. Once you get past the I-680 you can get off at Dougherty Road or Hacienda Drive. On Hacienda Drive there is a very nice and new shopping center with restaurants and an Imax theatre. Midway between Dougherty Road and Hacienda Drive on Dublin Blvd, Iron Horse Rd goes south to the parking garage for BART. From this Station you can catch a train into San Francisco. The hotels in Dublin that I found run in the $80-100 or more range. I was pretty much impressed with Dublin. Everything there appears to be New. A very nice, new, clean city. If I go back to San Francisco by truck I will probably stay there and ride the BART into San Francisco.
As it turned out it had been cloudy and
Chicken Queso FunditoChicken Queso FunditoChicken Queso Fundito

Chicken Queso Fundito at South Of the Border in Dublin.
overcast all day and forecast to be that way all week and it started raining so after eating at the South Of The Border Mexican Cafe I decided I wasn't going to try and tour San Francisco in the rain and so I headed East to Yosemite. It wasn't a bad trip and I got to Mariposa outside of Yosemite around 6PM. I had decided to just find a motel outside the park and go into the park in the morning. I got a room at The Yosemite Inn in Mariposa for $66 with tax etc. It was a nice room etc except for some reason it didn't have anywhere to hang up your clothes. It did have a refrigerator and Microwave however.
Mariposa was kind of a neet little town and I kinda wish I had gotten here sooner and looked it over more than I did. After unloading my truck I did drive around the town and look it over some but it was getting dark.
So tomorrow I'll head into Yosemite. I really don't know what to expect but guess as usual I'll figure things out on the fly. Hopefully I find a good campground and it
St Patricks day celebrationSt Patricks day celebrationSt Patricks day celebration

They were having their St Patricks Day celebration in Dublin. I drove by and took a look but did not stay.
doesn't snow.
By the way someone sent me a link that an earthquake is predicted in San Francisco tomorrow or the next day so it may be the luck of the Irish that I left there and came here.
Later.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

blooming treesblooming trees
blooming trees

Trees, trees, and more trees


14th March 2011

WORKING OUT
good to know you know your way around . have fun alot going on there
14th March 2011

MIDDLE
SOUNDS LIKE YOU IN THE POCKET RANGE FOR YOU , NOW YOU CAN BUY GAS!!
14th March 2011

trees
probably orange trees. you think. love annette

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb