2 free days in San Francisco


Advertisement
Published: May 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

We had 2 free days in San Francisco to do whatever it was we liked.

Before leaving OZ I got tickets to Alcatraz for the 25th. The others did a tour of the baseball field.

Cat came with me to Alcatraz. It was great. Freezing but great. Its the one thing you have to do in San Francisco.

I did learn something on this trip. San Fran is freezing!!

We got the ferry out to the island taking some photos of Alcatraz in the distance. Once the boat docks you walk up to the prison at your own pace and then get head phones for a self guided tour. Its really good and really brings you into the story of what happened on Alcatraz. Pretty interesting. It was better then I expected it to be and I learnt a lot.

When we got back to Fishermans Wharf Cat and I went to an expensive looking seafood restaurant. We felt so out of place and were surprised they let us in dressed as we were with backpacks. We both ordered a plate which included Salmon, Mahi Mahi, Prawns and calamari. It was the nicest seafood I've ever had. I guess you should expect the best. It is fisherman's wharf after all. They did really nice cocktails where we had lunch too.

That afternoon we headed to Haight-Ashbury the hippie area. Someone tried to pick pocked me on the bus. San Francisco is very bad for pickpockets on the trams and buses. I even had a packsafe backpack with special hooks and they got the front of the pack open but luckily i only kept things in the main compartment but it still gave me one hell of a scare.

That night was just dinner and a few drinks.

The second day was a sleep in. Cat and I split up and just did our own shopping. There's plenty around. Others caught a baseball game. I was pretty keen to see a game but slept in, didn't have tickets (most people got them the day before) and decided I hadn't done enough shopping yet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb