I left my heart in...


Advertisement
Published: July 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

First of all, disaster struck on our last night in San Francisco, and we accidentally cleared our camera's memory card, so this will be a photo-free entry, and all the rest of our photos from previous stops are lost forever too. Oh dear!

Anyway, although we spent a week here on honeymoon, and I loved it, this time around I was just gutted to be leaving New York, so I wasn't that bothered at all. Even Roy Scheider from Jaws being on our flight didn't ease the pain for me.

Started to settle in almost as soon as we arrived, though, as the taxi journey from the airport reminded me just how cool California is too. Our hotel was something else - huge rooms, clean and comfortable, but like something out of Vertigo or The Birds - I wouldn't be surprised to find out that scenes from either of those were filmed in it.

We were only supposed to stay in San Francisco 2 nights, but after a very hippy, chilled out day in Haight and Ashbury (the epicentre of the Summer of Love), followed by a Vetiver concert at night, we decided it might be nice to stay a bit longer and just fly to LA, rather than spend a few days driving down the coast as originally planned. So we had a great few days revisiting our old haunts from our honeymoon, not to mention re-acquainting ourselves with all the local hobos and crazies - we actually got spat on in the cinema, the loony factor in this city is as high as ever!

At this point, I will also reveal that Neil also took the opportunity to get inked up while he was here, and is now sporting a fairly big tattoo on the inside of his left forearm. I will post a pic as soon as I can. Eileen and Michael - sorry you have to find out this way!! It's actually really nice, honestly, and a long sleeve shirt will cover it if he ever needs to look respectable!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb