Celebration! FootBallSmiles is born


Advertisement
Published: March 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Dare!Dare!Dare!

To laugh!

Celebrate!




Every day we can celebrate something... we all have the privilege of choosing what we see!

Today I choose to celebrate!

And I want to do it with you! With a huge smile and a twinkle in my eye!

Here is what I see:

I see that the world is going faster, there are all kinds of things to get worked up about and frustrated. Things like all the eco's (economy, ecology, ecorruption, ecommerce, ecoetc...).

I see all kinds of global thises and thats... and a lot of concerned email spam!

I see myself forgetting who I am... if I ever knew!

I see that it is time to slow down and play with the children, especially the one within.

I see a lot of email activism and am curious as to what that really means... would it not be a lot more satisfying to just go out and do things directly, slowly, relishing every moment, enjoying the hardship and the fight, really getting involved?

I see myself wanting to do more, be more, have more, more, more, more!

Then I dream and see myself doing less, being
Drink!Drink!Drink!

In the colours!
less, having less, less, less, less!

And when I do that, I see only one thing...

A

Huge

Relaxed

Smile

On

My

Face!





And I celebrate good friends, good times, good memories, a good life!


Thank you, Universe!


Who cares what really will happen, all I can do is take it step by step, with a relaxed smile on my face and share that with anybody who dares to smile back 😉

Speaking of smiles, this is what is happening in my life...



FOOTBALLSMILES



A football for a smile

A smile for a football

Miles of footballs

Miles of smiles

The football smiles

Smiles for miles

Footballs for smiles for miles

Football smiles

Miles of football smiles




This is the plan:

To travel from Ibiza to Cape Town via Ethiopia, giving footballs to orphans in the year of the first major sporting event organized by Africa:

South Africa Football World Cup 2010!



To Play and coach, giving the children a means of entertainment, a way of
See!See!See!

The way things fit together...
becoming successful, staying healthy and away from the temptations of the street. Hope.
To record all of the exchanges with video, photo’s and a blog.
To upload short sequences to the web.
To share camaraderie, play football, celebrate unity and diversity.
To share the love of football, the acknowledgement and respect of skill, to inspire, to know different cultures and ways of life.
Above all,
To smile and leave smiles in our tracks!

Organization:

Itinerary and dates Ibiza, April, 2010 - Cape Town, July 2010 via Kenya, Tanzania, Mozambique, Malawi, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Where we will find the children and play the games ------ Orphanages, IDP's, NGO’s, schools, etc…
Balls and more we plan to buy locally with donations from supporters, sponsors and friends.
Travel costs are from our personal funds, donations and sponsorships.
Lodging is going to be the best, most fun and simple way of travelling.... the following sites and resources: Tripping, Couchsurfing, Backpackers and homes.

Goals:

To give away between 100 and 200 footballs in 10 - 15 different locations.
To play and coach in every country.
To have blog entries with photos to turn into an illustrated book after the trip.
Go!Go!Go!

Which way?

To upload videos to youtube of the whole adventure.
To share our enthusiasm and smiles, while learning and growing from every person and experience along the way.


Why?

Because an age ago, two childhood friends made a promise to attend the first World Cup in Africa... we never thought 20 years would go by!

Because to play football with children is the single most satisfying activity we have found.

Because when we play and smile, we forget about everything, even the next mile.

Because we love football... and travel...and meeting new people, new cultures, new adventures...

Becuase a World Cup is a celebration of life, of enthusiasm, of family!

Because it is something simple and easy to do and every step will be forever enriching!




I hope you will join us in some way as so many already have...

Smiling in Football, Celebrating in life!


Footballsmiles to you!




Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Meditate!Meditate!
Meditate!

Snow flakes and pine trees.
Walk!Walk!
Walk!

With a purpose.
Flow!Flow!
Flow!

Naturally...
Spot!Spot!
Spot!

Leopard?
Pray!Pray!
Pray!

Spiritually and naturally...
Eat!Eat!
Eat!

And be merry!
Progress!Progress!
Progress!

Excuse me?
Create!Create!
Create!

...a lasting creation.
Flowers!Flowers!
Flowers!

Smell the roses and frangipanis...
Football!Football!
Football!

...smiles!
Smile!Smile!
Smile!

Friends from forever.
Window...Window...
Window...

to the other side!
Be Silent...Be Silent...
Be Silent...

...and enjoy!
Rest!Rest!
Rest!

before you fly!
Rotate!Rotate!
Rotate!

Change your perspective.
Pray...Pray...
Pray...

New religion?
Dance!Dance!
Dance!

Exotic dancer in the snow
Go Green!Go Green!
Go Green!

And hug.
Live!Live!
Live!

Naturally dancing...


13th March 2010

Greetings from Germany
Hi travelling friend melchior, we are in Hamburg, came before the terremoto. my harddisc crashed, so i lost your e-mail. i could call adidas for your project:) get in touch yours ana christian
13th March 2010

Go for it
My dear friend Melchior. This sounds really nice what you want to do around Africa, I understand your " Goal " but it's going to be hard to win the game, lots of players on the field, you will have fun anyway, that's for sure. For me, the only shame about football is that some stupid brain with strong legs are winning more money than millions of Africans in their all life, no balance, we will still be looking at them on TV, loosing a game or dying like a fly. What to do, this is main kind for you and me of course. Lots of love.... Joel.
13th March 2010

I love it!!!
What a great plan! Send your idea to ADIDAS, FIFA and i garantee you could get a major sponsor. More balls and more smiles... I look forward to following your blog. Abrazos Wyan
13th March 2010

i had the good idea of consider you as a poet
i don´t remember what cause i could have made for have the effect of your friendly but i feel happy for it. thanks a lot for make me smile one more time... ;)
14th March 2010

YEAH!!!!!!!
Not only do you write beautifully, but your Images and what you are sharing is just so so so aw inspiring!!!!! Congradulations I am proud to be just a small small part in your journey. And with your attitude you may only put smiles on many peoples faces, Especially mine. XX
14th March 2010

And Now I Know...
.....what you will look like when you are old. You are the image of him Lobo. I'm certain this will be a trip that initiates the start of a beautiful journey, and I wish you happiness throughout. Tinkisses
18th March 2010

¡Suerte!
I wish you a beautiful journey, Melchior, thank you for making us participate, and may it only be through the screen of our pc... Looking forward to receiving the blog and more smiles. Thanks for this one. Petra
19th March 2010

Checking in
Nice photos! Good to see you again.

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb