The Irish have attacked the Mexicans!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
August 26th 2007
Published: August 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

OK first maybe I was to harsh on San Diego while I wrote my daily blog entry last night. But honestly, cloudy weather in San Diego is not excusable. At any rate, this morning we cheked out of the beach hotel and headed for Old Town. The hotel we stayed in tonight was pretty amazing, its more of a gated community. It has 8 different buildings, all with a "missionary" south west cultured lay out, If that makes any sense. Anyway of course the weather today was absolutely perfect (it cleared up about 30 minutes after we left the beach). We took the trolly down to Petco Park (home of the Padres) and checked out the outside of the stadium and went to the store. When we finished, we were approached by a "homeless" guy looking for money whos way of trying to get us to give us money was to say he was from NYC and was a Yankee fan (Dave and I had our red sox hats on). We told him to buzz off and to figure out a better pitch.

We stayed in Old Town for the rest of the day. Old Town is one of thse touristy old school places that are filled with shops and Mexican restaurants. We drank margaritas for most of the day and just hung out watching the people pass by. That is, until we heard the bag pipes. We took a walk to a side street and found about 10 people playing bag pipes as well as a 3 piece irish band playing music next to a brand new Irish store. Boy did I feel back at home. As Dave and I are listening, an older gentelmen comes up to me and starts talking to us about the Red Sox (we still had our hats on) and also tells us he is from Framingham, MA. I tell him I'm from Somerville and he tells us that he went to Tufts 50 years ago!! Small world. We start talking about what brings us out here and what not and how great it is that this Irish store has opened up. Well let me tell you something, the Mexicans got freaked! Literally there were Mexican people coming out of there homes and wondering what the hell was going on. It was hilarious. This guy comes up to us when he leaves his house and barely knows English and is trying to ask us what is going on. It was a pretty funny situation. The last thing I expected today was to be greeted by some Irish music!! When they were done, we went into the "Old Town Saloon" with some of the players and drank a couple of Guinness with them. Boy did that hit the spot. Don't get me wrong, I love Margaritas and Mexican food any day of the week, but that Guinness really did it for me.

Tomorrow morning we head up to Anaheim to watch the Angels play the Blue Jays at 12:30 PT and then continue up to Hollywood. This trip is really starting to catch up with me. I am exhausted. I'm having fun, but I just want to go home and get some real honest to goodness sleep!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb