USA 2011


Advertisement
Published: October 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

USA 2011


Hi again all. I am re-opening this blog after 3 years as I have travelled again (for a shorter period this time) to discover a part of the USA. Even if it was only for 3 weeks, we managed to drive more than 2500 miles through California and Nevada and managed to take a trip by plane, helicopter and boat to the Grand Canyon Arizona from Las-Vegas.
I was more thinking of this holiday as an adventure as I have never been to United States before, and really wanted to live the culture, see all those amazing sceneries that I thought I would only see on TV as a kid. I wanted to see if everything I was dreaming about as a kid (Los-Angeles, the beaches, Hollywood, San Fran, the madness of Vegas etc.) were just pure fiction or if actually those things are just part of everyday life there. Obviously, all the issues that we know about this country needed to be included as well...and I really wanted to see for myself if indeed the poverty, the gap between classes etc. were as bad as we hear or see.
I really think that after 3 weeks and 2500 miles, I
San DiegoSan DiegoSan Diego

A cool way to visit the city
have managed to come back with a clear idea. I am actually very surprised of the way I feel; indeed I was sure of having a great time and experience etc. but I actually loved every single second of it, and really find it hard to be back. I absolutely loved it there: the people, the food, the driving 😊, how easy and practical things are and every single city or place I visited. San Diego for its huge latin influence and laid back attitude, LA for its extreme differences, Santa Barbara for the way citizens include the homeless in their everyday life, San Fran for its architecture and monuments, Vegas for its crazyness...and of course the drive on the Pacific Highway coast, Yosimite, Death Valley, Grand Canyon etc. The gap between classes and the homeless issue is there, so real, shocking. There is so much work to be done! Santa Barbara is a great example of how things can be a bit different for those people: they have accepted them and give them a hand on a day to day basis, have multiple association and include them in the community by letting them be part of the city and motivate them to be artistic, sell things on markets, sing etc. shops provide them with clothes that they can't sell anymore. It's "funny" to see a homeless smiling at you wearing a pair of Ray Ban or an old Armani suit 😊
Anyway, if I could I'd go back in a flash, and would find it very difficult to come back...
Enjoy the pics 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 495, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

San DiegoSan Diego
San Diego

French Toast breakfast
San DiegoSan Diego
San Diego

Our monster for our 2500 miles journey
San DiegoSan Diego
San Diego

Wwas cool to see those boxes where you can get your newspapers from :)
San DiegoSan Diego
San Diego

Our hotel
San DiegoSan Diego
San Diego

American Breakfast, Chili scramble eggs


Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb