To Backpack or Suitcase it up????


Advertisement
Published: March 10th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I've spent the majority of the day doing laundry and figuring out what I should or should not pack to a tropical country. I've never been in such an environment and no I don't consider Hawaii the tropics when you're dealing with Costa Rica. After beating my head with an entire day of searching and reading advice from other fellow travelers they say to pack things that will dry quickly and to wash clothes in the sink. Lucky for me all my hotels have a laundry service on site, so no redneck washing for me 😊
Now is the biggest decision I have to make, do I take a backpack and attempt to rough it or do I bring a full on suitcase? I talked to Kay and she told me that I should do the backpack option. Stating if I need anything I can buy and give it away or what not when I leave. I see the appeal of that, since it sort of has that zen pass it forward mentality. I like the idea of a back pack, but then when I go hiking I can't bring my day pack which is too small to pack clothes in and too large to fit in a larger backpack. See the dilemma? If I take the suitcase, then I feel the need to over fill it and fill it with trinkets. Also I become a larger target for thieves since they would know I'm an American female that packed her entire life away in a suitcase. hmmmm

1. Should I attempt to do the backpacking and spend the extra money for a larger bag? Remember I still have my professional camera to figure out.
2. Should I risk the suitcase and bring a few comforts of home that I would like and have room for more trinkets from the trip?

This isn't an easy decision for a female. Every man knows about this and they constantly complain about our lack of decision making regarding this very topic. HELP!!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb