Shoot The Moon


Advertisement
Published: March 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I suppose this is where I am meant to introduce myself, but those of you who know me would find that boring. Those of you who don't know me wouldnt believe me anyways. Welcome to the premier edition of my Travel Blog. Please sit back, kick your feet up, pop a cork, and read on.

I was doing my daily research in preperation for Turkey after getting home from work today. I was looking at the Colossus of Rhodes (one of the seven wonders of the ancient world) and to my surprise and dismay, I found very little information on it. This huge statue was only in existence for 56 years, until it was ruined by an earthquake- however it was monumental enough to become a *wonder* and yet, there is no real information on it. That is frustrating. Gentle Reader, I know you dont give a damn about my search for knowledge on ancient stones- and frankly, had this not been a wonder, I wouldnt have even known this had existed.

I have a goal to see the Seven Wonders of The Ancient World, before they are destroyed by small minded people and their far reaching wars. The Hanging Gardens of Babylon are going to be difficult- seen as they are located in modern day Iraq. 😞 The pyramids are next on my list. After coming home from Turkey and Greece, my eyes will have behold 4 of the 7 Marvels.

This isnt as exciting to blog about, since I dont have any travels to relate. Im going to Santa Barbara this weekend, hopefully will do some hikes and some window shopping. I want to mire myself in Barnes and Nobles, Turkish literatue, sunshine and air, palm trees, and a great friendship.

Things will get better.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb