The Adventures of a Calculated Risk-Taker


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Orange County
September 29th 2011
Published: September 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

As I work through my long to-do list, what is it I'm trying to accomplish while away from family, friends, comfort and consistency? It all started with the need to build a house in Guatemala and has morphed into something bigger and more exciting than I could have imagined. Can I be spontaneous? (Yes, just give me a minute to plan everything first.) Can I live out of a back pack for months on end with three pair of pants and one tube of toothpaste? Can I work in the heat of the tropics and cold of Patagonia, in a tent with a 55 degree sleeping bag? Even if I find no answers, I've been given a wonderful opportunity and I'm taking it with both hands!

The first order of business was to lighten my load . . . everything was sold in a super garage sale and I feel better already. We burden our lives with a lot of baggage of all sorts, not the least of which is, frankly, baggage.

Luckily, my current consulting gig ends just before I head to Central America, so I don't need to worry about work. Nicole and Ian are both self-sufficient and taking care of themselves. So, it's just the cat I need to worry about, and Ian has graciously accepted the responsibility (Spotty is 17 years old and definitely belongs with her best bud).

And lastly, do I have all my paperwork in order for the next six months? Can I take care of paying taxes, running a non-profit, ensuring that my life in the US continues to move along while I'm away?

I think I may be ready for an adventure of a lifetime. I leave in 9 days and will keep everyone informed - let's see who I am at the end of this adventure!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb