apologies and explanations...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Oakland
May 28th 2008
Published: May 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so I take it some of you are aware that my last entry was more than a little tardy. Let me explain, briefly.
It's not that I have given up, it's just that since arriving in the States, the Internet Cafe has become a wholly different beast. No longer the cheap and plentiful things that they were in Europe (OK, not France or Frankfurt airport), if you can actually find one, it's going to cost around $8 per hour, and seeing as it takes me a few hours to write these things I've been unable to swallow such a bitter pill.

Most places over here have free WiFi networks which you can just log onto with your laptop. Guess what, I don't have a laptop. Good one Olza, start writing a worldwide travel blog relying on other people's equipment.

I have been very lucky and have often had the use of our host's computers, but sometimes you just need to be left to your own devices in a grotty little overheated room, full of old PC's and strangers, using a clunky keyboard and a wonky mouse, in order to get the job done.

The other reason is that we seem to have been doing more. I'm not sure how that works, but I think, to coin a brand new term, we're travel fit now.

So here's the situation. Since New York, we've been to Washington DC for 2 days, where Lindo played at the NZ embassy, Chicago for 4 days, where we didn't really do much of anything except buy western clothing, on a train for 2 days crossing from the Midwest to California, and now in San Fransisco for 3 days. As I write these words, we are just about to get up at 6am (I should be sleeping but I feel duty bound) to catch a train to San Deigo.

I will attempt to fill in the large gaps over the next few days, fortunately I've been diligent in keeping up my written diary, so I wont miss anything important out, but if I strike cheap/free computer drought, then the situation will remain unresolved until I get home, and then I'll spend a day or 2 of frantic writing and posting as if I was still on the journey.

Let's just see how things pan out then, only 9 sleeps till we get back.

I'm bloody homesick, just quietly

Olza

Advertisement



28th May 2008

Internet
Man, check out public libraries. You should be able to use the internet there for free. Wish you guys had made a stop in Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota. I've been following your travels and it would've been great to catch a show. Plus, Minnesota's cool. Ah well. Matt

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb