Ready... Set... SPIKE!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Oakhurst
November 12th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So here I am at Sugar Pine Christian Camp in Oakhurst, California.  Sugar Pine is a little bit less rustic than the summer camp where I worked; there's a pool and most of the cabins have lights.  Other than that, it reminds me a lot of my camp on the other side of the country. My team is staying in a nice little lodge with heat, running water, electricity... Everything you take for granted in the real world! There was about a day where the water in the girls' part of the lodge didn't work, but it turns out that was courtesy of the guys on our team...

The staff at Sugar Pine are incredible and we are completely getting spoiled! They constantly tell us how happy they are to have us and every time I go into the break room there is a new batch of chocolate cookies! It's s good thing we're still working out for an hour four mornings a week! It's now 6 instead of 5:30; it's still hard to wake up but that half an hour really helps!

For our first projects here they split our team into two groups: half are renovating the old cabins and the other half are clearing brush from a really bad storm this past winter.

I spent the first few days working in the cabins. Our first job was to tear out the old, dirty carpets. (Yes SFC readers, their cabins are carpeted!). This task was much, much harder than it sounds! It took three of us almost a full work day to get it all out; in some places we had to pull so hard that we broke the floor boards... After that we sanded down all the bunks (which is what I also did the last week I was at my camp) and then repainted the bunks and the walls.

I got to switch groups midweek and have spent the past few days raking out old sticks and knocking down dead trees which is actually pretty exhilarating! It's nice at the end of the day to see how much we've accomplished. We're stuck in an area now that looks like a tree graveyard; we've loaded the trailer with brush we cleared out at least twice and there's still a lot left to clear! I bet by tomorrow afternoon Ill be wishing I was still in the group painting cabins!

This weekend were going into the city of Fresno to get some Independent service hours at a park clean up and a food bank. Hopefully next weekend we'll get into Yosemite.

Instead of reposting my pictures on here Im going to post the link to my facebook album. You should be able to see them even if you aren't on facebook- let me know if it doesn't work!
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2056098&id=1560930078&l=8525281fed






Advertisement



12th November 2010

"my camp"
Kristen, My heart did a bit of a flippy-flop when I read you reference to "my camp" across the country. Skye Farm is "my camp" to so many of us. Glad to hear your news, wonderful just to share with you and know things are well with you. I am doing fine and look forward to reading your blogs. Thanks again for being a part of our lives.

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb