Brief Update


Advertisement
Published: March 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ok - this time a real synopsis -

After I left Phoenix on Sunday, I arrived in Palm Springs at my Uncle Mike and Aunt Bonnie's house, also known as a two-person five star resort with great company. Their house is absolutely gorgeous, with a beautiful view of the mountains, lava rock fire pit, espresso machine, and master Chef Bonnie! Not to mention a prairie dog named Ginger who is a good lil cuddle pal. Also - was psyched to discover they had invested in a 39 solar panel system with a SunnyBoy inverter!

When I woke up their, I lingered for a bit and enjoyed the glorious breakfast, then headed for the city of angels - and before I knew it, I needed a boat to go any further west! Deciding to take my time rather than jet up the interstate, I cruised along the coast on Highway 1, enjoying spectacular views and such. With the sun beginning to set, I was in Pismo Beach, and I decided to try and gun it and make it to Morro Bay for sunset - which I sort of did - but was rolling for most of the action.

Although my original intentions were to camp out along the coast then continue onwards in the morning up through Monterey and across the Golden Gate - after talking to my cousin Jessica and hearing that her husband Greg and my cousin Michael were planning to go hiking in the morning - it was time to burn rubber!!! I arrived in good time and enjoyed reuniting with my cousins after quite a few years - indeed- my cousin Michael is now a Man- where before, he was just a boy of maybe 15! Ah time ticks by and has its way.

The hike we went on was truly an epic one, up Mt. Diablo - with 3 peaks summited including Mt. Diablo- the story of this journey though truly deserves it's own post though! After a great night hanging with the cousins at dinner and in their hot tub, it was time to press on once more.

This time, I drove through Northern California, enjoying the impressive view of Mt. Shasta on my way up into Oregon. When I arrived in Oregon, and went to fill my gas...I encountered the Oregon State Law about Service Guys pumping the tank for you... but more on that later... ah time is a valuable thing. so little time right now!

Then I arrived in Corvallis and met up with my college buddy Ross - who took me to a great Thai place then showed me around the town that is home to OSU. After a french pastry in the morning, Ross went to work and I went for an 8 mile hike through Silver Creek Canyon...another epic hike deserving its own post... just like tent rocks do! Oh z well!

After my hikes was complete, I went for a brew at Henry's Tavern in Portland. Then went up to the Rose Gardens overlooking the city and took some pictures of Mt. Hood off in the distance...Unfortunately, it isn't the right time to be at the Rose Garden...right now its more of a Thorny Stumps garden, but I have definitely made a mental note to be in Portland when they are in bloom someday!

3.5 hours of driving later, and I arrived here in Monroe, Washington, at this starbucks, to quickly add some pictures and write something up!

Tomorrow, at 9am I begin my Swiftwater Rescue Technician training with a day of classroom learning - followed by two days of in the outdoors training this weekend. I'm thinking tomorrow morning before class or tomorrow night I'll knock out some decent blogs about my lil adventures before all the details drain from my brain! New pics added for the Still Kicking article though- starbucks is closing, adios!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb