Gracias, Merci, Danke, Thanks, Cheers


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Marin
February 4th 2009
Published: February 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My Blogger of the Year Acceptance Speech

After 4 months of traveling there are so many people to thank, in no particular order, thank you, all of you. Tara and I appreciate all of you. And thanks to everyone who read this stuff, it was actually a lot of fun to write.

Rob and Carl- Dublin became our home base for family, planning, and learning about Ireland and Europe. It was always nice to have these two guys take us in periodically and do everything they could to help us stay healthy, happy and on track. You guys are good friends.

Eurail- Eurail though we had our times, was the cheapest and most effective way to experience and travel through Europe. Choo Choo baby.

Lonely Planet- This book was key to the cheapest living and always useful for hints at cool shit to do.

Wyatt- For handling every single problem and affair I left behind and didn’t deal with. When people ask me why I’m friends with Wyatt, cause he’s always there for me no matter what.

Booze- Though you wouldn’t know it, I didn’t drink as much in Europe as I thought I would. Don’t get me wrong, I drank my face off, but I was at about %10 of what I was doing before I left California. Booze was a great way to relax and meet people.

Water- I have never drank so much in my life. From recovering from heavy drinking or heavy walking, I finally realize the importance of water. Though I will probably switch back to G2 Gatorade when I get home, I will never forget you water.

OvGuide.com- OvGuide.com was an essential entertainment tool. For as many things there were to look at on our train rides, there was also darkness and boredom in equal amounts. What saved our sanity was this website, which gave us access to TV shows and movies to watch on the train or when we just wanted to relax and feel a little bit of home.

Meat- I think we all know how I feel about this subject.

Rick and Selene- Rick and Selene were our guides and hosts during our stay in Amsterdam. They showed us nothing but a good time and it was nice to have a goofy buddy in Rick who shares the same exact personality as me.

Spell Check- Sometimes you failed me and you wouldn’t work with me when I was drunk trying to write blogs, but for the most part, you kept everything legit.

Etam- Our Jewish compadre who saved us a ton of money and hassle in Budapest. For his good conversations on being Jewish, Palestine, Israel, I am truly grateful. He’s the type of guy who gets mad at you for paying or lifting a finger. He gave his own bed and would’ve given us the shirt off his back if we had asked. Etam’s thirst for knowledge in life is infectious and he can really inspire you to pursue things you want in life.

Wifi/Laptops- WIFI is really the greatest invention ever. We relied so heavily on the internet and the resources available for booking, paying, budgeting and keeping track of trip as well as communication to family and friends back home. Having the laptops often meant free internet instead of paying to use hostel/hotel computers.

The French Metro Couple- Though I will never be able to properly thank them, to the couple in France that we met in the train station, that took us an hour and a half around Paris, paid for our metro tickets, helped carry our luggage, translated and the other train station and went so far out of their way for nothing in return, thank you both. If you need prove that not all French people or people in general are selfish or assholes. What they did for us, should grant them nothing but good things in life for a long time.

Mother Nature- Mother nature was oh so kind to us. It snowed and rained only at the perfect moments and I can’t remember cursing the weather once. Croatia was not mother nature’s fault, that was Croatia’s fault. Mother nature, I now forgive you for all the canceled softball games.

My Only Black Pair of Pants -Everyone said I couldn’t make it through Europe with only one pair of pants and no underwear. HAHA, FUCK YOOOOOUUU.

Cheryl -For bringing us treats unique to the United States and a new pair of shoes for me.

Jesus -Nah, I’m just playing, we’re still fighting.

Nicole and her flat mates- Nicole is queen of perfect directions and hospitality, but I expected nothing less than from someone who is the hospitality director of a 5 star hotel.

Dance/Music- There seemed to be some rough spots and hard times on our journey but it always seemed to be ok after a few tunes of fun dance to end a fight or time you’re feeling down. From people laughing and waving from the street as they watched me and Tara dance in our pajamas in our apartment or Tara, Shelly, Carl, Rob and me singing, ‘Twist and Shout,” wasted at 2am in Rob’s kitchen. Dance and music remains the best medicine and the best way to celebrate life.

Me- Cause I still think I’m awesome.

And finally, you all knew it was coming,

Tara Costello, you have been the best travel buddy, women, and girlfriend a person could want on this trip. I had nothing but praises for you and the woman you are. I love you very much and I look forward to more adventures in the future.



Advertisement



4th February 2009

Awwww!!!!
the last comment made me tear up!!!!

Tot: 0.418s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.2503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb