900 miles- thru the sierras


Advertisement
Published: June 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone! so this one is going to be a short blog- i just wanted to send at least a few pictures and check in.....so right now i'm in mammoth- 902 miles under my legs so far- and feeling sore but in the best shape of my life! I'm staying at my friend Shannon's place in Mammoth- a Villanova softball teammate- so it's been awesome seeing her and having a home to relax in. We got through the end of the desert, with lucky cooler weather- had some awesome times at some trail angel's houses- the Saufleys and the Andersons- its amazing the way people open up their homes to you- and just the generosity people show hikers on the trail- gives you faith in humanity in a way 😉

The last 2 weeks we've entered the Sierras- and its just been a different world. Took a side trip to Mt. Whitney 14,600 ft i think- just going up on the passes, the views of the mountains around are just amazing- makes you feel so small, but at the same time part of it all. Snow still packed up on the top of the mountains- some of the passes have
Britt and I on top of Mt. WhitneyBritt and I on top of Mt. WhitneyBritt and I on top of Mt. Whitney

a sidetrip to the country's tallest mountain in the lower 48 states....amazing views of snowcapped mountains and blue skies
scared me a little- i've recently figured out im scared of heights- so i dont hesitate with my crampons- even though no one else is really using them. But I've been getting through them- glissading on the way down- right on the butt and sliding down the hill- really fun. I'm warming up to the snow hiking a little. The most amazing lakes scattered all around the mountains- some glow with a tropical blue. Marmots hanging out on the rocks- i saw a bear in a meadow the other day....meeting some cool new people on the trail the last 2 weeks- and just loving every minute being out here. Learning a lot about the ultra lightweight backpacking gear and backpacking in general. I feel like a hiker and am loving life. Enjoyed celebrating naked hiking day on the summer solstace! 😉 The Sierras are an amazing place. We'll be going into Yosemite i think within the next week and working our way up north.

So as you can see from the picture- i shaved my head. A thing a lot of the girls do- easier maintenance on the trail- and a liberating feeling- going against what we see as
Muir PassMuir PassMuir Pass

One of the best days on the trail...good brothers and sisters on the trail to enjoy the amazing scenery
conventional beauty. So yeah- ive been rocking the shaved head 😉

Sorry I'm not including any detailed stories- just wanted to get something down- but i hope everyone is enjoying their summer- if thats the season in your part of the world- and much love to all of you guys!!! ....until next time!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



26th June 2008

oops
hey i made a comment on your last post that was meant to be here! so you can read that one....you are such a rolling stone!!! keep up the good work and post a better pic of your shaved head...isnt it cool??? keep up the pace and keep posting pics even if you dont have time to write! one love krc
26th June 2008

Amazing photos and I'm loving the shaved head. You look cute! I would just look like a boy! You're really doing it!! I'm so impressed. I want to climb Mt. Witney some day, looks gorgeous and keep those crampons on :)
27th June 2008

butterfly!!
I knew your new du would kick butt. Waaaaay cuter than you make it sound. I´m glad you are discovering your strengths and weaknesses (heights). Keep testing your limits and surpassing them. LOVE! (screamin´ it)
28th June 2008

Summer starts also for us!!!
Hey shaved head girl, Looks awesome over there!!! It must give a lot of energy i guess and kicks every new adventure you make....Great! Egon and i are leaving the 2nd of july!!! Yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaahaaaaaaaaaaa. I hope we can meet you somewhere...We will send email Big hug and kisses XXX Egon and Britt.
27th September 2008

Finished
Whats up kee? Just flew in yesterday back to Ga. Me Brit a Yukon finished the trail on september 20. The pictures you gave me where awsome, thanks. Well talk to you later.

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1105s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb