First Stop LA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
August 31st 2009
Published: September 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The first part of my journey has begun. I arrived in LA at 6:50pm on August 29th and was greeted by Tom, Amanda and Oliver. That evening we went to dinner at Gilbert's a great little Mexican restaurant, where we shared a pitcher of margaritas, several bowls of chips and salsa, pickled carrots, and finished off with 2 chimiy chongas and a burrito.

The next mornig was filled with cups of great Costa Rican coffee, conversation, and several supposed departer times. (Oliver has plans of his own) We walked Venice Beach where we saw a women carrying a python, a man in a speedo(no business wearing one) and of course muscle beach. Along with many other interesting folks. After the walk we went for a swim, then off to the Library Ale House for a couple of drinks.

After drinks I left Tom and Amanda to headed off to Northridge with my Uncle John and family. He took me on a driving tour of LA, seeing places that I was able to check off the tourist list. Places such as, the Gruaman's Chinese Theather, Hollywood walk of Fame, Capital Records, Rodeo Drive, Hollywood Hills, the Hollywood Sign, Santa Monica Pier, and some of his old stomping grounds.

I spent time catching up with Ro, Kyle and John all of which I had not seen for several years. Ro took me out for a massage, shopping and her daily errands. Kyle, my younger cousin and I got to know each other. (last time we saw each other he was 11, now he is 16) John worked but we were able to spend the evenings having a drinks on the patio and chatting. I was able to spend a great night out in Hollywood CA with my uncle. He took me to see a show at the Comic Store, very funny.

My last day here in the states was spent walking around Santa Monica, and Venice, the evening came to an end when we watched the sun disappear into the Pacific Ocean.

The last week has been filled with friends and family and I could not have asked for a better start to a trip.

TK


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb