The Row over - Part one


Advertisement
Published: June 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Anyway, back to the begininning.

So I arrive at Tullamarine airport Melbourne at about 7.30 am, for the first trip overseas with family members in tow. I was mostly anxious about the fact that I had a one way ticket due to onward travel plans, and if they caught me at immigration or something I may be in le sh*t. The family were mostly anxious because I am fabulous and leaving the country for what may be a number of years. I said goodbye at the very non homely entrance to the international gates and plane is delayed - again. We get restaurant vouchers to tame us - Some people actually buy lunch, most hit the bar. I chose the latter, because I am Australian.

The 14 hour planeride is as good as a 14 hour plane ride can be I guess. I was kitted out with the whole kit and caboolde of comfort items, so I sniggled into my cuddle buddy neck pillow and the earplugs softened the sounds of that cranky baby, all was good. Took photos of the sunrise from my window, I don't know how anyone can ever want anything but a window seat, the view outside plane windows is some of the most surreal and beautiful sights I have ever seen, clouds are amazing.

Arrived in LAX about 10.30 am I think, I was temporarily fresh as a daisy, had missed my connecting flight to New York by hours but that was Qantas problem, not mine. The immigration line was seriously one of the longest lines I had ever seen in my life. Had just landed in another country wearing winter tracksuit and it was stinking hot, we were underground and airless after a serious of post plane tunnels and now were in this loong line before I had to show them my passport and visa and customs form and hope to hell they didn't ask about return flights. And everyone was speaking Spanish, I thought they spoke English in America.. Got through the passport stamping/interview session without a hitch. Can use charm!

Now we enter LAX and - man, this is an enthusiastic bunch of staff. The fat black American men in uniforms reminded me of TV shows, I felt like I was in TV. I finally got to a counter and apprently my original flight to NY didn't exist - On ya Qantas. After about half an hour of p*ssfarting around they just booked me a new flight anyway. I found my way to my new terminal and this cute latino boy who checked my passport was the flirtiest guy I had encountered in a loong time. 'Here you go Kathryn, or is it Katie? or Kath?' I was too delirious and confused to respond with any wit or to suggest a quick rendezvouz. The staff immediately after this guy were quite the contrast, the people who watch your carry on bag go through the xray vision thinger seem to really hate their job (I am sure there is a name for this but I can't remember) In all of my air travel experience until now, airports had been a classy and special experience, and everyone was in customer service max mode, they all spoke in gentle friendly voices and the girls had delicate faces and neat hair with bobby pins. LAX felt more like a rough and tumble centrelink. We don't flying, You don't like flying. Move it or lose it.

I had another restaurant voucher here because Qantas had stuffed up again. I went to the bar and unfortunately at this airport it could only be used for food. Damnit. Since I was sitting on the bar stool already I decided to have a drink anyway, the bartender was very friendly and asked me if I would like to make it a double for an extra three dollars. I said sure. (Maan I could get into trouble in this country) I had Burger King and it was the worst fast food I had ever eaten in my life, the veggie pattie was old and hard on the edges and the chips sorry (Fries) were bad. How the hell do you make BAD chips? (Fries) I threw it in the bin and sat at gate 38B with the hoardes of people waiting for the flight to New York. I planned to listen to Sinatra on the plane.



Advertisement



9th June 2008

No high mile club attempts... and the bits about New York?

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb