Getting ready while the typhoid fever pills weigh me down...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
February 13th 2007
Published: February 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Getting ready for the grande voyage!Getting ready for the grande voyage!Getting ready for the grande voyage!

San Francisco bay...we'll miss it.
I can't really believe that I'm going to be on a different continent in less than a week. Getting the last shot tomorrow--a yellow fever shot! Ow! All these preparations are floating around in my head, and all I can do is try to gather things that I think I'll need--that I hope won't get stolen in the process.

Finally have 2 things set up for Peru and Ecuador: tour to Machu Picchu, Cusco, Ollantaytambo and Lake Titicaca; and also a trip to Sani Lodge in the Ecuadorian Amazon. Those were the two countries I am in charge of; Aaron is still compiling research on Argentina, Uruguay, and Chile (including, of course, Patagonia!).

I visited Marj Berg, one of our family friends, today. She had some helpful advice, like what to bring for our homestay in Lake Titicaca: empty plastic bottles to bouy the reed islands (and to strap onto children who might fall off of the island into the lake and drown), and oven mitts. Who knew?

I promise this will be more exciting once I get down there...just a test entry, people! Be patient!

Send me your address if you wish to receive post
cards.

<3

Advertisement



17th February 2007

YAY!
I am excited to be reading your blog! I also would like a postcard if you have time of course. My (and Sarah's) address is on my livejournal.

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb