That's my plane!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
January 26th 2007
Published: January 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

That's my plane!That's my plane!That's my plane!

EVA Air 747 at LAX
I'm sitting in LAX (Los Angeles International Airport) making use of my new laptop. It's Friday afternoon, January 26. I'm waiting to board an EVA Air plane that pulled up to the gate a few minutes ago. My destination? Bangkok, Thailand.

Getting through the ticket counter and security was smooth. No lines. No problems. I've got a 13 hour flight to Taipei, Taiwan, and then another 3 hour flight from there to Bangkok.

I'm carrying much more than when I last traveled through SE Asia. That trip was 9 weeks long and all I had was an Eagle Creek backpack. This trip is 10 days. I've got the same backpack...but I've added a couple of other pieces of luggage (suitcase and laptop bag). What's up with that? I'm bringing some things for Saai (that's my excuse!), and there is the laptop to consider.

I'm hoping to find some free wi-fi spots during my trip to justify bringing the laptop. I'm used to visiting internet cafes on my travels so this is a new twist. Supposedly, the Bed & Breakfast where I will be staying in Chiang Mai has free wi-fi for guests.

I'm excited about returning to Thailand. What's the plan? Most of my time will be spent in Chiang Mai, a city in northern Thailand that I absolutely loved when I visited last year. I will also be in Bangkok for a bit since that is the transportation hub, and where I will be meeting up with my girlfriend, Saai.

What will this trip include? Plenty of time with Saai for sure, but what will we be doing? Eating banana pancakes @ Libernard Cafe? Definitely. Shopping at MBK? Likely. Butchering the Thai language? Yes, a big yes for me. Green curry? Indeed. Trekking to visit the hill tribes? Possibly. Riding elephants? Traveling down rivers on bamboo rafts? Eating grasshoppers? Stay tuned...

Look! There goes Dave!





Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb