3 Days in LA


Advertisement
Published: July 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Here is what I've been up to in LA.

On Friday, I worked as a volunteer at the conference. There were 8 of us, all Ph.D. students. To use this highly qualified group of people, they gave us 1000 bags and stacks of pieces of papers from the conference sponsors to put in the bag. Being 8 CS students, we quickly came to the conclusion that the optimal way to do this was to set up 2 assembly lines with 4 people each, and divide the flyers in a specific way.
Apparently it worked, since we finished in 3 hours instead of the 8 hours that were planned.

On Saturday I went to Universal Studios, which was a lot of fun. On the way back I stopped at Hollywood Boulevard to look at the stars on the sidewalk. It was very crowded, and also kind of late, so I spent a total of about 10 minutes there, and then got back on the subway (yes, they do have one in LA).

Today (Sunday) was my first day at the conference. I went to tutorials today, some were better than others. Tomorrow I have more tutorials, the main conference starts on Tuesday, but I already met tons of people I know, so everything is cool.

Don't expect more updates in the next week, the conference will probably not be that interesting (for you).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.279s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0926s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb