Welcome to the 1930s


Advertisement
Published: September 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Queen Mary - Elevator BanksQueen Mary - Elevator BanksQueen Mary - Elevator Banks

Paying homage to swing ... here are my jazz hands!
Being aboard the Queen Mary is really like stepping back in time to that wonderful Art Deco era of the 30s. Not only is the decor rich with originality, but ‘big band swing’ music from the 30s could be heard all over. The ambiance was that great.

I love the architecture from this era, it's so beautiful. The simple, linear details really provide a lot of opportunity for the photographer! I was quickly drawn to the elevator banks ... they just don’t make elevators like this anymore. Standing in front of them I couldn’t help but think of all the people ... the famous, the rich, the regal ... who may have passed through these them.

We the ventured to the Promenade, which is the place where everything is happening ... well, it would be when the shops open! At this point it was quite late at night and there were just a few people wandering the ship. The promenade extends the length of the ship and is filled with stores, cafes and historic reminders of how the ship looked back then. Everywhere you look, you are reminded of a 'different time.'

One such case held photos and
QM Sailor DollQM Sailor DollQM Sailor Doll

I found a bit of history of my own nestled within QM's history. This Sailor Doll is like one that was given to me by my Grandmother on a trip to Europe when I was young.
mementos from over Queen Mary’s years ... and ignited a memory from my own childhood. When I was young, my Grandparents took me to Europe. At one point we traveled on a Ferry from England to France, and it was here my Grandmother bought me a little blue velvet Sailor doll. Exactly like the one behind the case! I loved my Grandmother and I loved that little Sailor doll. It was so weird to see a childhood ‘friend’ like that. The next day we found more in one of the shops on the promenade. After relaying my story, the shopkeeper told us “Yes, we do sell those dolls.” And as he picked one up he stated, “This one is on consignment and it sells for $465.”

Needless to say, I now have a great photograph of my little Sailor Doll!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

QM Elevator BanksQM Elevator Banks
QM Elevator Banks

They just don't make elevators like this anymore. The Art Deco styling of the 1930s is beautiful.
QM PromenadeQM Promenade
QM Promenade

The Promenade is the place where everything is happening.
QM PromenadeQM Promenade
QM Promenade

Even the ceiling looks cool!
QM PromenadeQM Promenade
QM Promenade

The Promenade extends the length of the ship and is filled with stores, cafes and historic reminders of how the ship looked back then.


Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.114s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb