Goodbye yellow brick road...


Advertisement
Published: January 7th 2016
Edit Blog Post

The Pig and IThe Pig and IThe Pig and I

My traveling companion, Piggins, and I as we say goodbye to Hollywood.
After two and a half years in L.A., I'm taking my show on the road again. I've done a lot while here... I've joined a fire conclave, spun fire poi at Burning Man in 2014 1n 2015, face painted at El Pueblo on Olvera Street and at the Griffith Park Merry-Go-Round, taken painting classes with Julio P. at Art Works, taken a Cyr Wheel class, done some Capoeira, saw Evita, Wicked and Matilda... and walked a lot. I saw my daughter play a million princesses, Mary Poppins, and Ursula the Sea Witch at Creating Arts, perform in Burlesque and Freak Show formats and fire dance. I helped a friend to live with joy and not die alone. I conquered my fear of choreography and savored the joy of face painting. The time is ripe for leaving.

All the prep for leaving has been completed. Lira hosted a going away dinner in Burbank, with my boy band Anthony, Kevin, the Frambs and Rachel, and Chuck in attendance, for which I stupidly forgot to take photos

Courtney (no photo again) helped me load up a U-Haul truck with furniture and household items to take to donate. I've sold my washer and
BarbieBarbieBarbie

Urth Caffe in Santa Monica for my farewell lunch. Good food and good conversation send me on my way.
dryer and given other items as love tokens. The remainder of my goods were taken to Goodwill with the knowledge that the next owner will benefit from my cast-off possessions. I've been lunched by Barbie Dee and dined by Amelia and Kevin. Julio of the Merry-Go-Round took me to lunch and let me store my face painting gear in his garage in the hope that I will return soon. Goodbyes have been said and been I've been launched with love.

Tomorrow I head north on the 5 to San Francisco. In a show of support, the heavens are pouring down... tears of joy? My daughter has given me a traveling companion. Piggins. We are ready for what the world has offer. Just remind me to photograph it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Kevin and AmeliaKevin and Amelia
Kevin and Amelia

Zinc Market Cafe in downtown LA. A fine meal in the open patio, followed by a gift of shovel, tarp and questionable intentions... no duct tape. Bon voyage from two fabulously inspiring friends. Amelia recommended the travel blog.
JulioJulio
Julio

Eat Well in Glendale for late breakfast and a fine sendoff.


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb